Kishan shines as The Sangai Express cruise to fourth cricket title at Journalists' Sports Meet


Kishan shines as The Sang
By Our Sports Reporter
IMPHAL, Apr 6 : Th Kishan blazed off a half century to guide The Sangai Express to the fourth consecutive cricket title at the Journalists' Sports Meet organised by the All Manipur Working Journalists' Union.
With the conclusion of the cricket tournament at Luwangpokpa Cricket Stadium today, the 11th edition of the Journalists' Sports Meet came to an end.
Having secured three titles in succession since 2018, The Sangai Express defeated Impact TV in the final today for the fourth title.
Earlier in the first match, The Sangai Express beat Poknapham and got the better of TOM TV in the semi-final to set up a final date with Impact TV which saw off ISTV Network in an edge of the seat semi-final contest.
In the final, The Sangai Express won the toss and chose to bat first. Th Kishan who took the crease with Yambem Popcha (14) as openers, anchored the innings well with a splendid 27-ball 66 to steer The Sangai Express to a commanding total of 82 runs for 1 in the stipulated 7 overs.
Chasing 83 for the win, Impact TV put in their best effort and managed to gather 58 runs for 2 in their quota of  7 overs, but it was way behind the target and eventually had  to concede the game by 24 runs. Sandeep and Basanta (substituting A Nickel) of The Sangai Express shared a wicket each in this innings.
Winners, The Sangai Express were feted with a cash prize of Rs 7,000 while the runners up team, Impact TV were encouraged with a cash prize of Rs 5,000.
The Sangai Express also earned the overall runners up title as ISTV retained the overall team title.
The final match (cricket tournament) was witnessed by numerous AMWJU members from different media firms and houses besides DGP, LM Khaute; Bijoy Kakching-tabam, president of AMWJU; Khogendro Khomdram, president of Editors' Guild Manipur; CO of 5th IRB, H Balram; SP-Imphal East, Jogeshchandra Haobijam  and Thokchom Ongbi Memcha Devi who also attended the valedictory function of the sports meet as the presidium members and felicitated the cricket winners, runners up, overall team champions and overall second runners up team with cash prizes and certificates.