Election Results 2021 PM Modi congratulates MK Stalin, Mamata Banerjee


 MK Stalin, Mamata Banerj
 The counting of votes for West Bengal, Tamil Nadu, Kerala, Assam, Puducherry assembly elections is now heading towards conclusion. The Nandigram seat is witnessing several twist and turn as first Mamata Banerjee was declared winner and later, Suvendu Adhikari was said to have defeated Banerjee. Now the TMC has tweeted informing that the counting is not over yet and asked people not to speculate.
While Mamata Banerjee-led TMC is on its way to securing a decisive majority with over 215 seats leaving the BJP’s challenge behind in West Bengal, the LDF led by Pinarayi Vijayan is way ahead of majority mark as per latest trends.
However, TMC supremo Mamata Banerjee, who was contesting against BJP’s Suvendu Adhikari in Nandigram, conceded defeat. She alleged the Election Commission (EC) changed results in Nandigram, but said she is happy as the “people of Bengal have saved the country”.
The Assam is going again to the NDA while Puducherry has voted for a new Government led by the BJP. In Tamil Nadu, MK Stalin-led DMK is ahead of the ruling AIADMK and is set to form Government with a simple majority.
While the BJP is likely to get somewhere around 80 seats in Bengal, the DMK is hovering around 140 seats in Tamil Nadu against the AIADMK which is likely to close its tally around 90 seats. In Kerala, LDF is expected to win around 90 seats and the UDF around 45 seats. In Assam, the BJP is expected to win around 80 seats while the Congress is lagging behind at 46 seats. In Puducherry, the NDA is ahead of the SDA by leading on 9 seats.
Polling was held in eight phases in West Bengal between March 27 and April 29, in Assam in three stages on March 27, April 1 and 6, while votes were cast in Tamil Nadu, Kerala and the Union Territory of Puducherry in a single phase on April 6. In Assam, the fight is between the BJP-led NDA and Congress-led UPA. Here, the ruling party is predicted to return to power for the second term. The poll results in the four States and the UT are also likely to reflect how the handling of the Covid pandemic has played on the voters’ mind. West Bengal is one State where the exit polls are divided with some predicting edge for the ruling TMC and some projecting win for the BJP. Overall, the contest is quite close in West Bengal and results can go either way as there are over 50 seats where winning/losing margin is projected to be very slim. Both BJP and TMC are confident of winning the State by cornering over 200 seats. None of the survey has predicted 200 for either TMC or the BJP. A three-tier security arrangement is in place in West Bengal’s counting centres and 256 companies of central forces deployed across 23 districts of the state that voted in a gruelling election marred by violence and vicious personal attacks.
In Tamil Nadu, both Dravidian parties — AIADMK and DMK — went into the election without their stalwarts, J Jayalalithaa and M Karunanidhi. As per exit polls, MK Stalin’s DMK is predicted to sweep the State by winning over 150 of 324 seats. The AIADMK may finish under 80 seats, as per various exit polls. Kerala is predicted to elect the ruling Left Government of Pinarayi Vijayan. The Congress here was hoping to return to power but polls predict no such trend for the party. The BJP too may have to settle with just 0-2 seats, as per exit polls released on Thursday. In Puducherry, the NDA is expected to come to power by winning 19-23 of 30 seats. FE Online