Online essay competition winners feted Need to explore new ideas, says MOA president


Online essay competition
By Our Staff Reporter
IMPHAL, Sep 19 : Manipur Olympic Association (MOA) received 42 ideas and a meticulous study is needed to make the best of the ideas, said MOA president Th Radheshyam while attending prize distribution programme of an online essay competition held in connection with the recently concluded Tokyo Games.
The essay competition was held on the topic- "The Past, Present and Future Prospects of Indian Sportspersons in the Olympics: Contribution of Manipur Sportspersons" and was participated by 42 students in two categories.
The prize distribution programme was held at the head office of the Manipur Olympic Association today in the presence of MOA president Th Radheshyam; senior vice president Dr GA Ibopishak Sharma, secretary Sunil Elangbam and other functionaries.
Speaking at the function, MOA president lauded the participants for their works and further maintained that they have provided the association an opportunity to analyse positive contents which can potentially boost the sporting movement in the State.
It may be noted that COMET School's Kshetrima-yum Goongoon Devi (Class XII) emerged winner of Category A while Ningthoujam Kamala Devi of Jawahar Navodaya Vidyalaya (Class XII-Arts) and Meikam Deshdemona Devi of Regular English High School (Class IX) bagged second and third places. Meanwhile, B Tech student, Lhingpineng Joshi of Manipur Technical University was adjudged category B winner as Gita Elangbam of JNIMS (MBBS 2nd Yr) and Angie Zingsol of Don Bosco College Maram (BSc 6 Sem) were declared second and third.
First prize winners of both the categories were feted with Rs 5000 each along with certificates and mementoes as second placed and third placed participants were awarded  with Rs 3000 and 2000 respectively.
Neha Oinam of Nirmalabas High School (Class X), Chingakham Mangibhusan of Xtra-Edge School (Class XII), Ningthoujam Chanchan Devi of Thanga Island Modern English School (Class IX), Dibiyarani Potshangbam of Ajad English School (Class IX) and Gauri Tyagi of Divya Public School (Class XII) who participated in category A and Margaret H of DM College of Science (BSc 6th Sem), Mrinal Joshi of National Sports University (BPES 2nd Sem), Takhellambam Navyson Singh of BMS College of Engineering (B-Tech 2nd Yr), Ambika Chanu Potsangbam of S Kula Women's College (BFT 2 Sem) and Chingakham Mangikumari Devi of GP Women's College (BA 6 Sem) who participated in category B also feted with consolation prizes (Rs 1000 each and certificates).