MPCC says no to 5 deserters

By Our Staff Reporter
IMPHAL, Jan 13 :  The Manipur Pradesh Congress Committee has resolved not to give the party form to Y Surchandra (Kakching), Ksh Biren  (Lamlai), O Henry (Wangkhei) S Bira (Kumbi) and Md Abdul Nasir  (Lilong) for contesting in the ensuing Assembly election.
Speaking to media persons at Congress Bhavan, MPCC vice president Devabrata stated  that certain party members giving a false account of Congress after defecting to other parties is due to lack of farsightedness.
Saying that Y Surchandra was denied the party form as he is no longer a member of MPCC, the Congress leader
maintained that MPCC has also not given any response to the resignation letter submitted by the former Kakching MLA.
Further stating that Chief Minister N Biren Singh targeting the high command of Congress for the 'security breach' at Punjab is provocative, he reminded that a 5 member committee of the Supreme Court has begun probing the case.
Condemning the Chief Minister for depicting Congress as a law breaker in view of the Assembly election, he asked why Prime Minister Narendra Modi was distressed while moving in his own country in the first place.