45th Senior State Level Handball Tournament begins ARC thrash YLK 26-7 in men's opener


By Our Staff Reporter
IMPHAL, Jan 2 : The 45th Senior Men and Women State Level Handball Tournament kicked off today at YLK Handball ground at Chingarel Tejpur with 7 men's teams and 5 women's teams taking part in it.
Hosts YLK edged past IMC, Thoubal Leishangthem by 9-8 goals in the keenly contested women's opening match before ARC earned a comfortable 26-7 win over hosts YLK, Chingarel  in the men's opener (Pool A).
Sonia added 5 goals for IMC but it went in vain as YLK overcame pressure to seal the narrow win.
Y Monika topscored for YLK with four goals as W Chaoba and L Berlice scored two goals each and Th Sangita added once. The other goals for IMC were scored by P Dhanapati (2) and L Debarani (1).
Later in another women's match, MPSC demolished Citizen Club, Soibam Leikai by 21-6 goals riding on 5 goals each by Ksh Apabi and M Dimple.
 O Sandharani also added a significant four goals as N Sunibala scored three while Ng Khomeiton and Ch Laxmi scored 2 goals each.
Th Anjubala managed the highest 4 goals for the Soibam Leikai team while Th Jenita and H Jenita netted a goal apiece.
Meanwhile in the men's opener, Seiresh Roy netted 8 goals to lead ARC to a 26-7 win over the hosts, YLK.
H Sanatomba, Anupam Chouduri and Pravin scored 5, 4 and 3 goals respectively for the winning team as Th Kiranjit, O Yaiphaba and Kh Lenil slotted home 2 goals each.
On the other hand, K Rajeshor, Th Silheiba, A Bikramjit, H Michael, K Bigyananda, A Ranjan and K Athouba all scored a goal each for YLK.
In the Pool B opening league match, MPSC kicked off their campaign with an easy 18-12 win over BBA, Mayang Imphal.
N Gobin shone with a total of 8 goals for MPSC in this match as H Ingocha (4) and N Saratchandra (3) contributed 7 goals.
Th Robi and N Dinachandra also scored a goal each for the winning side as Atomba and A Tondonba scored 7 and 5 goals respectively for BBA.
In another Pool B league match, IMC pulled off a 22-15 win over Citizen Club thanks to goals by L Lemba (8), Oinam Prem (4), L Lamyanba (3), Ch Umakanta (2), Ch Umakanta (2), A Prem (2), Th Akendrajit (2) and Oinam Tony (1).
Otega scored the highest 6 goals for Citizen Club in this match followed by R Romario (3), Sidhartha (2), Kh Ringo (2), Dabid Jonnor (1) and Th Sashikanta (1).
January 3 matches
MPSC vs Citzen (Men's Pool B) from 9 am; IMC vs Citizen (Women) from 10 am; IMC vs BBA (Men's Pool B) from 11 am; YLK vs BBA (Women) from 1 pm; YLK vs Public Club (Men's Pool A) from 2 pm and MPSC vs IMC (Women) from 3 pm.