45th State Sr Handball TournamentMPSC win women's crown as ARC lift men's title


45th State Sr Handball Tournament
By Our Staff Reporter
IMPHAL, Jan 7 : MPSC and ARC were women's and men's champions of the 45th State Level Senior Men and Women Handball Tournament hosted by YLK, Chingarel Tejpur at its ground since January 2.
In the women's final staged yesterday, MPSC thumped Citizen Club, Soibam Leikai 20-14 to win the top honour.
N Sunibala top-scored with a total of 6 goals for the winning side followed by O Shandhyarani (5), Ch Luxmi (4), Ksh Apabi (3), Ng Khomeiton (1) and M Dimple (1).
Anjubala, on the other hand, scored the best 5 goals for Citizen Club while Anjali and Ronibala added 4 and 3 goals respectively. Jenila and Ranju also found their names on the scoresheet for adding a goal each.
Meanwhile in the men's final, ARC cruised to a 33-19 win over MPSC riding on a super scoring display by Anupam Choudhury who scored 11 goals alone. Suresh Roy and Yaiphaba contributed 6 and 5 goals respectively for the same team as Sanatomba, Lenil and Pravil added three goals apiece and Ratan scored 2 goals. N Gobin (7), H Ingocha (4), Th Hemanta (3), N Saratchandra (2), Y Becker Roy (1), Th Robi (1) and Ksh Mocha (1) were the scorers for the runners up team.
Earlier in the semi-final matches, MPSC outlasted YLK 29-26 and ARC thrashed IMC 35-14 to complete the final line up.