Manipur at IITF

Imphal, Nov 17 (DIPR): Textiles, Commerce & Industries Minister Nemcha Kipgen has hailed Manipur as an epitome of ‘unity and diversity’ which is home to 34 different tribes speaking different languages and dialects with distinct culture and tradition.
She was speaking during the Manipur Day celebration at the 41st India International Trade Fair (IITF), 2022 held today at Amphee Theatre, Pragati Maidan, New Delhi.
The 41st India International Trade Fair (IITF) 2022 began on November 14 at Pragati Maidan, New Delhi. The mega event will continue till November 27. This year, the theme of the trade fair is ‘Vocal for Local, Local to Global’.
While addressing the gathering, Nemcha Kipgen said that the leadership of Prime Minister Narendra Modi and Manipur Chief Minister, N Biren Singh have led the country and Manipur towards the path of inclusive development.
She highlighted that Manipur is truly a miniature of India abound with rich treasure of art and culture, both from the hills and the plain.
She also mentioned the famous Rasa Lila- the classic dance depicting the love of Krishna and Radha and Gopis’ devotion to the Lord, Kut festival of the Kuki-Chin- Mizo, and the Luingaini festival of the Nagas.
Manipur also gave Polo to the world and the State is an emerging powerhouse of sport in India, she asserted.
She continued that Manipur produced many Olympians, Asian Games and Commonwealth Games’ medallists like Mary Kom, Mirabai Chanu, Shushila Likmabam, Sushila Pukhrambam, Nilakanta Sharma, Nilakomol, Thoiba, Dingko, Kunjarani Devi and many more.
Nemcha Kipgen further stated that Manipur is rich in handloom, handicrafts and pottery products. Handloom and handicraft are the largest cottage industry in the State, she added.
Cultural presentation by TAPASHYA and traditional attire parade by Freeway were the cultural highlights of the evening.
Director of Trade, Commerce & Industries Yumnam Robita and LH Ngathingshim, Deputy Resident Commissioner, Manipur Bhavan, New Delhi also graced the event as president and guest of honour respectively.