Ranji Trophy Plate GroupPrafullomani's quickfire 87 helps Manipur register 8 wicket win over Arunachal Pradesh


sports photo
By Our Staff Reporter
IMPHAL, Dec 30 : Manipur senior men's cricket team end the year on a high note thrasing Arunachal Pradesh by 8 wickets with batting fireworks on Day 4 for the first win in three matches of the Ranji Trophy Plate Group at Lal Bahadur Shastri Stadium, Anand (Gujarat).
Prafullomani took centre-stage today as he clobbered 17 fours en route his quickfire 87 off 55 deliveries and forged an unbeaten 97-run third wicket partnership with B Rahaman (55) to guide Manipur to the win within 42.2 overs of the second innings. Arunachal Pradesh, having posted 233 runs and 251 runs in their two innings, had given Manipur a target of 198 runs yesterday.
Resuming the chase (second innings) on 10 for none after 1 over, Manipur lost Ronald M to Akhilesh Sahani on 14 but Basir Rahaman and Langlonyamba (40 off 73 balls) took control of the chase and stitched together 85 runs for the second wicket.
After Langlonyamba holed out to Rahul Dalal off Tempol delivery in the 30th over, B Rahaman played second fiddle to Prafullomani and amassed this season's best total of 55 runs (5x4) off 112 deliveries. Rahaman had also added 37 runs in the first innings.
Mention may be made that Manipur posted a total of 287 runs to take a first innings lead of 54 runs thanks to half centuries from skipper Langlonyamba (91 off 138 deliveries) and L Kishan Singha (58 off 108 deliveries).
Bowler all-rounder L Kishan Singha also emerged most successful bowler with a match's figures of 8 for 118 runs in 51.5 overs after he spun web around Arunachal Pradesh's middle order in the second innings and claimed 6 wickets alone.
Manipur will play Mizoram in the next match at Narendra Modi Stadium Ground 'A', Motera, Ahmedabad from January 3.
Brief Scores
Arunachal Pradesh 233 (Kamsha Yangfo 41, Vipin Ajay Dhaka 33; Bishworjit 5/47, Kishan Singha 2/55) and 251 (Anup Ahlawat 52, Rahul Dalal 37, Chandan Kumar Singh 37; Kishan Singha 6/63, Rex 2/62, Jotin Pheiroijam 2/23)
Manipur 287 (Langlonyamba 91, Kishan Singha 58, B Rahaman 37; Chandan Kumar Singh 3/66, Nabam Abo 2/52, Akhilesh Sahani 2/69) and 198 for 2 in 42.2 overs (P Prafullomani 87*, B Rahaman 55*, Langlonyamba 40; Akhilesh Sahani 1/66, Tempol 1/45)