109 Bn CRPF emerge champions of Inter GC/Bn Weightlifting competition


sports photo
An Inter GC (Adm)/Bn (OPS) Weightlifting competition was organized by 109 Bn CRPF, Mongsangei, Imphal under the aegis of IGP, M& N Sector CRPF from May 7 to 8 at Sports authority of India (SAI) Indoor stadium, Imphal.
The competition was declared open by Nansita Devi, Gold medalist of weight lifting in Commonwealth games who is presently serving in GC, CRPF Imphal as Dy Commandant in the august presence of Laimenthang, Director SAI Imphal; Madahav, Addl Director SAI Imphal; Bal Krishna Ram, Commandant 109 Bn, CRPF; Bajrang Lal, Commandant – 69 Bn, CRPF and members of Manipur Weightlifting Association as dignitaries.
Total nine teams comprising CRPF Battalions & Group Centres (GCs) deployed in Manipur as well as Nagaland viz- 32, 69, 86, 78, 87, 109, 143, 173 Bns and Group Centre CRPF Imphal, participated in the tournament, said a statement issued by 109 Bn CRPF.
Speaking at the occasion, Nansita Devi exhorted the players to play the game in the true spirit of the game and said that such a tournament will not only build up team spirit but also make one fit and healthy, the statement said.
Hosts, 109 Bn CRPF emerged winners of the competition which was conducted by A Ranjan Singh, Senior Coach SAI, Jury member and referees of Manipur Weightlifting Association. 173 Bn CRPF on the other hand finished runners up and CT/GD Sheedha of the Battalion bagged the best Weightlifter Trophy, the statement said.
As per the statement, DS Bhandari of 109 Bn bagged the 61 kg category gold medal as Harikar Manohar of 143 bn, S Dhamendra Singh of 173 Bn and Sunil Kumar of 143 Bn respectively clinched 67 kg, 73 kg and 81 kg category titles.
Kapil Dev of 173 Bn; Sandeep Kumar of 109 Bn,  Sheedha of 173 Bn and Dilip Kumar of 109 Bn also fetched gold medals in the 89 kg category, 96 kg category, 102 kg category and 109 kg category events respectively.
The closing ceremony of weightlifting tournament held yesterday was graced by DK Tripathi, DIG M&N Sector CRPF as chief guest in the august presence of Suresh Sharma, DIG M&N Sector CRPF; Francis Marwein, Regional Director of SAI; senior officers
DK Tripathi also congratulated the winners, runners up and all participants of the competition for their sportsmanship and discipline during the course of competition besides felicitating the medallists.