State Level Subroto Mukerjee Football TournamentBishnupur vs Thoubal in U-14 boys title clash; Imphal West vs Ukhrul in U-17 final


sports photo
By Our Staff Reporter
IMPHAL, Jun 29 : Utlou High School, Bishnupur will lock horns with Heirok Higher Secondary School, Thoubal in the ultimate clash of the ongoing State Inter School Subroto Mukerjee Football Tournament for U-14 boys being organised by the Department of Youth Affairs and Sports.
In the first semi-final match of the tournament staged this morning at Langjing turf, the Thoubal team blanked St Peter's Hr Secondary School, Chandel by 5-0 goals to book their final ticket as L Bikramjit scored twice.
Bikramjit put Heirok Higher Secondary School ahead after the 12th minute with a fine shot before Sanathoi doubled the advantage by converting a penalty kick in the 28th minute.
The Thoubal team kept searching for more goals after the restart as well and they got their third in the form on an own goal by Dilbung Rengwin of the Chandel team.
T Likson then made it 4-0 after 48th minute before L Bikramjit rose to another chance and banged in the final nail three minutes from time (57').
Later in the second semi-final encounter, Utlou High School carved out a 3-1 win over Mt Zion Sr Secondary School, Senapati to set up a final date with Heirok Hr Secondary School.
Utlou High School who have been rampant in the league stage started slowly today and took a 1-0 first half lead courtesy Steven Mangte and it was O Abinash who doubled the lead after 37th with a fine shot.
Adding woes to the Senapati team who have been misfiring, Kh Alex struck in the 51st minute to give Utlou High School an unassailable 3-0 lead.
Mt Zion Sr Secondary School however found a consolation goal via Manehrii in the 55th minute to make the final scoreline read 1-3.
CT Hr Secondary to take on Seikhor Govt HS in U-17 boys final
Imphal West represented by CT Higher Secondary School are set to play Seikhor Govt High School of Ukhrul district in the U-17 boys final.
In the first semi-final match staged here at Turf Ground Lamlong, CT Higher Secondary School and Kinship High School, Churachandpur played out a 1-1 draw and eventually the game was decided via tie breaker.
In the tie-breaker, Ranjan, Annaroy, Kheljit, Malemng-anba and Monex all found the target for the Imphal West side to ensure a 6-5 finish as only Ngamkholal, Yangkhon-gam, Kenminthang and Jangminlal converted from the spot for the CCPur team.
In the meantime, the second semi-final match turned out to be a lopsided affair as Seikhor Govt HS rode on heroics from VS Thotkadhar and N Jarish to grab a 4-1 win over Education Training Centre, Kangpokpi.
Seikhor Govt HS took 10 minutes to find the breakthrough via Thotkadhar before N Jarish scored two goals back to back in the 16th and 27th minute to make it 3-0 before the break.
Paogouthang did pull back a goal for the Kangpokpi team in the 39th minute but the team failed to sustain their momentum and conceded one more goal to Ukhrul when Thotkadhar latched onto a fine chance and fired home in the 53rd minute.
Ukhrul side then held on to their lead till the final whistle to set up the title clash with TG Higher Secondary School.