State Level Subroto Mukerjee Football TournamentTbl take home U-14 title, IW win U-17 tourney


sports photo
By Our Staff Reporter
IMPHAL, Jun 30 : Heirok Higher Secondary School, Thoubal and CT Hr Secondary School, Imphal West emerged champions of State Inter School Subroto Mukerjee Football (Under 14 & 17) Tournament for boys , today.
In the first final, L Belot Singh converted a 31st-minute penalty to give Heirok Higher Secondary School a narrow 1-0 win over Utlou High School, Bishnupur at Lamlong turf  and took home the Under -14 title.
In the Under -17 final, CT Hr Secondary School, Imphal West beat Seikhor Government High School of Ukhrul by 2-0.
 Boynao opened the account for the Imphal West team in the 42nd minute while his team-mate Monish increased the advantage to two in the 44th minute.
The prize distribution ceremony of the tournament were graced by Works Minister Govindas Konthoujam, Special Secretary of Youth Affairs and Sports Namoijam Kheda Varta Singh and Education (S) Director Laishram Nandakumar Singh.
The tournament which was organised by the Department of Youth Affairs and Sports began on June 25 with the participation of 32 teams (16 team each in the two categories).