Yambem Dhanabir clinches title of 5th Ramnarayan Memorial Chess tourney


By Our Staff Reporter
IMPHAL, Jul 10 : Yambem Dhanabir amassed 7.5 points in 9 rounds to win the title of the 5th Khuraijam Ramnarayan Shastree Memorial Chess Tournament organised by Khuraijam Ramnarayan Shastree Memorial Trust under the supervision of Manipur Chess Association at Juvenile Club premises, Tera Sapam Leirak.
The valedictory function of the tournament was held today in the presence of Sapam Kunjakeswor, MLA Patsoi AC; Khuraijam Mohon, president Juvenile Club; Athokpam Bishworjit, Pradhan Sapam Leikai Gram Panchayat; Khuraijam Banikanta, president of Khuraijam Ramnarayan Shastree Memorial Trust; AK Manihar, former Dean School of Social Sciences, Manipur University; RK Chourajit Singh, Retd Joint Director, Census Operation and Sukham Dhanachandra Singh, Secretary, Manipur Chess Association as presidium members who also handed over prizes to winners and other participants.
Tourney winner, Y Dhanabir was feted with a cash prize of Rs 25,000 along with a trophy and certificate while second placed RK Bhogen was awarded Rs 18,000 cash prize along with a trophy and certificate and 3rd placed Kh Sanjoy received a cash prize of Rs 12,000 with trophy and certificate.
 H Herojit (4th), L Lalgopal (5th), Ph Rajen (6th) and Th Sunachand (7th) were also feted with cash prize of Rs 8,000; Rs 6,000; Rs 4,000 and Rs 3,000 respectively while S Lawrence (8th), N Pari (9th), O Ningthem (10th), E Jeakson (11th) and Kh Premchandra (12th) received cash prize of Rs 1,500 each besides certificates.
Top three players among the above 60 years age group, Bit Irom, Laishram Shyamkeshore and Dorendro Maibam were also feted with cash prize of Rs 3,000; Rs 2,000 and Rs 1,000 each.
 Top two players in the  U-14 girls category, Nadia Sougaijam (1st) and Shamurailatpam Priyanka (2nd) meanwhile received Rs 2,000 and Rs 1,000 respectively as top three players in the U-14 boys category- Khuman Einstein Maibam, Dayanand Thoudam and Lemba Sougaijam got Rs 2,000; Rs 1,000 and Rs 500 each. Laishram Denilson was adjudged promising player of the tournament and  feted with Rs 500 while RK Bidyalakshmi received a special prize of Rs 500.
Best local player, Moirangthem Sanjit was also feted with Rs 1,000 and a certificate at the occasion.
Speaking at the occasion, Patsoi AC MLA also expressed hope that the tournament will gain further height in the upcoming editions. He also maintained that the tournament will act as a preparatory platform for State chess players ahead of zonal and National events.