73rd Van Mahotsav 2022Mass tree plantation drive held across State


Our Correspondents/DIO
CHD/CCP/KPI/TML/TPL, Jul 1 : Minister of Forest, Environment and Climate Change, Th Biswajit Singh today launched the 73rd Van Mahotsav 2022 at Hararou in the presence of PCCF & HoFF Aditya Kumar Joshi.
The event was organised by Kangpokpi Forest Division, Government of Manipur to encourage public participation in planting trees.
It was participated by Divisional Forest Officer, Kangpokpi Forest Division; ACF Kangpokpi Forest Division; staff of Forest Department; youth clubs; student unions; local leaders and villagers of Hararou, Yumnam Khunou and Sinam.
As a part of the Van Mahotsav campaign, around 13,000 seedlings will be planted across Kangpokpi district at Taphou Kuki, Toklak Athongba, Waichong Range, Langkichoi. The Forest Department will arrange seedlings for all the organisations, local clubs, CSOs and individuals who wish to take part in the campaign.
Chandel Forest Division also celebrated 73rd Van Mahotsav by organising tree plantation drives at Mantipantha village ground, Modi village and Chakpi Molbem village in Chandel district.
Earlier, a Van Mahotsav launching programme was also held at Mantripantha village.
It was attended by 41-Chandel AC MLA, SS Olish; Additional Principal Chief Conservator of Forests (APCCF) Manipur, Soreiphy Vashum; Deputy Commissioner Chandel, Mayanglambam Rajkumar; SP Chandel, Hemant Pandey; and Divisional Forest Officer Chandel, Kanthale Vijay Sahebrao as presidium members.
Assistant Conservator of Forest Chandel, Naorem Munal Meitei and ROs, staff of Chandel Forest Division also took part in the event.
To commemorate Van Mahotsav, Churachandpur Forest Division under the leadership of  Esther Laltankim Serto, DFO Churachandpur organised a mass plantation drive at Sijang village in Henglep Sub-Division.
It was attended by DC CCpur, Sharath Chandra Arroju; SP CCpur, Shivanand Surve; CO 1st IRB, Lunkhomang Khongsai; ADM CCpur, Khaikhopao Ngaihte; Project Director DRDA, Thienlaljoy Gangte; AC to DC CCpur, Zosanglur Joute; SDO Henglep, Johnathan Hmangte; officers from BSF-STC, District Level Officers, representatives of various Departments, Village Chiefs and VAs of the area.
It may be mentioned that over 10,000 saplings were reportedly planted today in 6 centres spread across the district.
Gaithoulu Thaimei, Conservator of Forest, the nodal officer specifically appointed to supervise the Van Mahotsav celebration in Churachandpur and Bishnupur along with Nirmala Chanu, MFS, also took active part in the plantation drive.
On the occasion of 73rd Van Mahotsav, Range Forest Tamei and Tamei Battalion also organised a mass tree plantation drive at Tamei Headquarter under the theme, "The survival of human life on the planet depends on the survival of plant and animal life".
It was attended by Awangbow Newmai, Water Resources Minister; Range Forest Officer Tamei, Kh Johnson Singh and CO Tamei Battalion.
Van Mahotsav was also celebrated at Tamenglong College with Praveen Kumar Nigam, IFS, DFO Tamenglong; Paul Nangsha, MCS, SDO Tousem & Tamenglong; and Dr N Daimei, Principal Tamenglong College as presidium members.
At Oinamlong village, the mass plantation drive was led by Range Forest Officer Tousem, S Khogen Singh and members of Oinamlong Village Authority.
Tengnoupal Forest Division also celebrated Van Mahotshav at Laiching Minou village in Tengnoupal district.
It was attended by Chief Conservator of Forest Manipur, VL Roui Kullai; Tengnoupal Forest Division, Deputy Conservator of Forest, Dr Leishangthem Jeeceelee; DC Tengnoupal, Mannuamching; SP Tengnoupal, B Go Lian Mang; SDO Machi, Th Monoranjan; and Laiching  Minou village chief, D Leirung as presidium members.
Range Forest Officer Tengnoupal, Athokpam Ranabir; RO Headquarter Tengnoupal, Tipu Raj Toijam; RO Machi, SR Marson Anal; RO Moreh, Ngangom Nandabir; DLOs and villagers.