1st session of 12th Manipur Legislative Assembly

Prof (Dr) Nimai Chand Luwang
The election to the 12th Manipur Legislative Assembly was held in two phases on 25th February and 5th March 2022. Counting of votes took place on 10th March and the results of all 60 Assembly segments were declared the same day. The Governor, Shri La Ganesan, dissolved the 11th Manipur Legislative Assembly on 11th March and constituted the 12th Manipur Legislative Assembly on 12th March 2022. Subsequent to a general election, a few preliminary steps are necessary before the Governor addresses the newly elected members of the House. Members have to make and subscribe an oath of affirmation, after which they take their seats in the House. Thereafter, the House elects the Speaker. Thus, following the general election, the first session commences when the elected members gather in the Assembly Hall for the first time with the Protem Speaker in the Chair.
In order to complete the formalities, after the general election, the Speaker protem is appointed to administer oath/affirmation to the newly elected members and conduct the election of the Speaker. The Governor, Shri La. Ganesan, appointed Shri S Rajen Singh, MLA elect as the Speaker pro tem on 13th March 2022 and administered the oath of office and secrecy. The Speaker pro tem performs the duties of the Speaker till a Speaker of the House is elected. The oath/affirmation ceremony of the newly elected members of the 12th Manipur Legislative Assembly took place at 11 am on Monday, 14th March 2022 at the Assembly Hall, Imphal with Shri S. Rajen Singh, Speaker pro tem in the Chair. The House assembled at 9 am on Thursday, 24th March, 2022 in the Assembly hall to transact the business of the election of the Speaker. MLA Shri Th. Satyabrata Singh was elected the Speaker of the 12th Manipur Legislative Assembly.
The Governor of Manipur Shri La. Ganesan, through a notification dated the 22nd March 2022, summoned the first session of the 12th Manipur Legislative Assembly to meet at 10:00 hours on Thursday, 24th March 2022. The main proceedings of the House on the first day, i.e. 24/03/ 2022 were as follows: (i) Governor’s address, (ii) Presentation of Demands for Supplementary grants 2021-22, (iii) Presentation of Budget Estimates, 2022-23 and (iv) Motion for Vote on Account, 2022-23. On the second day i.e. 25/03/2022, the House took up (i) GENERAL DISCUSSION ON DEMANDS FOR SUPPLEMENTARY GRANTS AND VOTING ON  SUPPLEMENTARY DEMANDS FOR GRANTS: 2021-22.
All the Supplementary Demands were passed by the House unanimously.(ii) DISCUSSION AND VOTING ON MOTION FOR VOTE ON ACCOUNT 2022 and the Vote on Account, 2022 was passed by the House. Additionally, the following bills were introduced: The Manipur Appropriation (No. 1) Bill, 2022 and The Manipur Appropriation (No. 2) Bill, 2022.
The House assembled for the third day at 11:00 am on Saturday, 26th March 2022 with the Speaker Shri Th. Satyabrata Singh in the chair. The main business of the third sitting was the consideration and passing of the following appropriation bills: (i) the Manipur Appropriation (No.1) Bill, 2022 and (ii) the Manipur Appropriation (No.2) Bill, 2022. Both the Bills were passed unanimously by the House. The Speaker Shri Th. Satyabrata Singh adjourned the House sine-die at 11:43 am on 26th March 2022.
According to the Rules of Procedure and Conduct of Business of the Manipur Legislative Assembly Rule 4. (1) The Assembly shall be summoned by the Governor from time to time to meet at such time and place as he may appoint, Rule 4.(2)

(To be contd)