5th Kh Ramnarayan Shastree Memorial ChessYambem Dhanabir takes lead after fourth round as Sudhirsana holds Lalgopal


sports photo
By Our Staff Reporter
IMPHAL, Jul 5 : Yambem Dhanabir has climbed on top of the ongoing 5th Khuraijam Ramnarayan Shasree Memorial Chess with four points courtesy four straight wins here at Tera Sapam Leirak.
Top rated player, L Lalgopal Sharma was held to a draw by RK Sudhirsana earlier in the first match forcing the two players to share 1/2 points each and to remain on 3 and 1/2 points each.
In the third match, E Shashikanta who had gathered 2 and 1/2 points after three rounds managed a win against S Herojit (3 points) to join players in the 3 and 1/2 points league. RK Bhogen too notched up a fourth round win to rack up 3 and 1/2 points after the fourth round.
The fourth match of the day also saw Sadokpam Premjit and N Dhaneshwor who were on 2 and 1/2 points each from three matches, played out a stalemate to share 1/2 points each.
S Lawrence also maintained his unbeaten run sharing 1/2 point each with Th Sunachand (2 and 1/2) in the 6th match of round four today to remain with 3 points.
Other players who have gathered three points after four rounds of the competition are Rockey, K Poireikhomba, N Herojit, Ph Rajen, Ngakuimi Kasar and L Shyamkishore while players with 2 and 1/2 points are Th Sunachand, Dayanand Thoudam, O Ningthem, H Ibochou, Kh Premchandra, Ngangwangkhu Khoisnam, E Jeakson, Ronald Longjam and Kh Aimson.
Players who have amassed two points after four rounds in the meantime include- K Kunjabihari, L Dorendrajit, N Jiringanba, Bit Irom, RK Ningthem, Seram Indrajit, Sougaijam Priyokumar.