NE Women's Football League set to kick off todayThe tourney aims at empowering women, says Amin


sports photo
By Our Staff Reporter
IMPHAL, Jul 6 : The first edition of the North East Women's Football League, sponsored by Anantpura Sports Events Pvt Limited is all set to kick off tomorrow at  SAI Turf ground, Takyel.
In a press conference held this afternoon at Manipur Olympic Association Confer- ence Hall ahead of the of the league tournament, the chairman of Anantpura Sports Events Pvt Limited Amin Pathan said that the tournament is being organised  in a bid to bolster the Government of India's campaign "Beti Bachao Beti Padhao" and help empower women at large.
In the press event which was also attended by renowned footballer and Padmashri awardee Oibam Bembem, key functionaries of All Manipur Football Association and others, Amin Pathan informed that the tournament, which will be the first of its kind in the region, will be featuring 8 teams, one each representing North East States.
He also maintained that two teams, one being drawn from winners and runners up of the tournament and the other from remaining teams will be sent for an exposure trip to Dubai late this year.
Saying that the Anantpura Sports Events Pvt Limited has been promoting and motivating players by organising professional tournaments in sports disciplines like Cricket and Kabaddi, he said that company looks forward to adding a team either from Goa, Kerala or West Bengal in the next edition.
Furthermore, he announced that the league tournament will carry a cash prize of Rs 5,00,000 for the winners and Rs 2,50,000 for the runners up besides other prizes including player of the match for every match of the tournament. Maintaining that the tournament is organised to set up a platform for women players where they can showcase their grit and talents, he also sought support from all sections of the society in making the tournament a successful one.
He also announced that the State teams with suffixes viz- Manipur Sangais, Tripura Pythons, Arunachal Pradesh Tigers, Assam Rhinos, Meghalaya Leopards, Nagaland Wild Hogs, Sikkim Pandas and Mizoram Black Bears will vie for top honours of the tournament which will culminate on July 24.
Saying that the entry will be totally free for all, Amin Pathan also stated that the competition will be broadcasted live on 1Sports Channel and the same can be streamed on YouTube
The formal opening function of the tournament will be graced by Sheikh Noorul Hassan, MLA, Kshetrigao AC; Francis Marwein, Regional Director, SAI NERC; Sunil Elangbam, general secretary, Manipur Olympic Association; O Bembem Devi and Amin Pathan as dignitaries.