Peace pact signed with 8 outfits

New Delhi, Sep 15
The Centre and Assam Government on Thursday signed a tripartite peace accord with eight Adivasi militant outfits of Assam in New Delhi.
Home Minister Amit Shah, who was present on the occasion, called it an important day for Assam and the North East. “This is an important day for Assam and the North East. Many initiatives have been taken by the Modi Govt to develop the North East region. Around 1100 persons of Adivasi outfits of Assam are surrendering arms and joining the mainstream today,” Shah said.
Assam Chief Minister Himanta Biswa Sarma was also present during the signing of the peace agreement.
Notably, the agreement with eight Adivasi militant outfits was signed 10 years after the peace process started.
The eight rebel groups are Birsa Commando Force (BCF), Adivasi People’s Army (APA), All Adivasi National Liberation Army (AANLA), Adivasi Cobra Military of Assam (ACMA) and Santhali Tiger Force (STF). The rest of the three outfits are splinter groups of BCF, AANLA and ACMA.
BCF), APA, AANLA, ACMA and STF have been in a ceasefire with the Government since 2012 and since then the cadres of the militant outfits are staying in designated camps.
Later in the day, Home Minister Shah held a meeting with Assam CM Sarma and Arunachal Pradesh CM Pema Khandu on border-related issues of both the States.
Times Now