GDC emerge Th Ibopishak Super Division League champions


sports photo
By Our Staff Reporter
IMPHAL, Sep 18 : GDC-Thinungei were crowned champions of the 1st Thokchom Ibopishak Singh Memorial Super Division Football League 2021-23 organised by District Sports Association, Bishnupur at Mini Stadium Bishnupur.
GDC snatched a 2-0 win over RFCC-Keinou in the last match of the tournament to finish their campaign unbeaten and amass 19 points to finish atop the league table of the tournament participated by 8 teams. TYDA-Toubul who were also unbeaten in the tournament finished league runners up with 15 points from 4 wins and 3 draws.
H Anand scored the opener today to ensure GDC lead the first half 1-0 with a 26th minute finish before N Arbin slotted home the decisive goal late in the 82nd minute.
Among the individual prize winners of the league competition are: highest scorer- H Jotin of LASHAL; best goalkeeper- H Parsanjit of YSWA; best striker- L Jackson of YSWA; best midfielder- JR Jontson of NCYWO; best defender- N Sobachandra of TYDA.
BFA-Nachou were also adjudged best disciplined team of the tournament.