MNCA Plate Group TourneyA Robinhood's unbeaten 80 helps NCA extend winning run


sports photo
By Our Staff Reporter
IMPHAL, Dec 31 : NCA, Ningthoukhong overwhelmed MPA-Kakching by 251 runs for the second successive Group A win in the ongoing MNCA Plate Tournament at Model Hr Secondary School and Oriental College ground today.
Put in to bat first, NCA punished MPA bowlers and stacked up a commendable total of 308 runs for 8 wickets in allotted 40 overs and then bowled out MPA for just 57 runs in 22.5 overs to go top of group table.
NCA started the day positively with the opening pair of Roshan Konthoujam and Moirangthem Karamachand Singh taking on the MPA bowlers with ease and forged a 118 run first wicket partnership before Roshan was trapped lbw by Raneshwar Thounaojam for 43 runs which came on the back of 7 fours.
Moirangthem Karamachand also fell to Raneshwar for 66 runs as the scoreboard read 125 after 17.4 overs before N Sidarth and Angom Robinhood set up another major partnership by adding together 72 runs off 60 balls for the third wicket.
N Sidarth was then trapped in the front by Aristotle Khaidem for 34 runs but Angom Robinhood anchored well  to score a half century (80 off 61 balls) finding the fence 10 times (9 fours and 1 six) and steered NCA past the 300 run mark.
Johnny Athokpam of MPA returned with the best bowling figures of 3/68 in 8 overs removing three middle order batters while Raneshwar Thounaojam finished with 2/30 in 5 overs.
MPA then had a disastrous chase as Chourjeet RK of NCA wreaked havoc and walked away with a five wicket haul while his compatriots Shinoj Khwairakpam and Luhikumar Oinam shared two wickets each.
MPA lost first wicket after adding just runs as Chinglensana was trapped lbw by Chourjeet who went on to scalp four more wickets in succession including two wickets, both on ducks, in the 9th over to reduce MPA to 23 for 5 in 9 overs.
Sushil Moirangthem of NCA then bowled out Chongtham Gopeshwor on 5-ball duck for the 6th wicket before Shinoj Khwairakpam removed Lucky Elangbam 9 and Raneshwar Thounaojam 0 to make the scoreboard read 38 for 8. Luhikumar Oinam then took honour to take the last two wickets and wrapped up MPA's chase at 57 in 22.5 overs.
Angom Robinhood who scored an unbeaten 80 off 61 balls was adjudged man of the match.
AKSDO-Khangabok will play YPHU-Lalambung in the next match on January 2.