THAU, YWC-P end 7th MNCA Plate tourney campaigns on winning note


sports photo
By Our Staff Reporter
IMPHAL, Jan 24 : THAU-Thangmeiband and YWC-Patsoi ended their campaigns in the 7th MNCA Plate tourney with third victories today.
At Model Hr Secondary School and Oriental College ground, THAU thumped KIYC-Kshetrigao by 94 runs after posting a moderate todal of 211 runs for 7 wickets in 33 overs riding on 49-ball 50 from Malesh Kumar and significant contributions from Hijam Anilkumar (43), Diamond (42), Roshnikumar Ngangbam (31) and Ranjeev Irengbam's unbeaten 26.
The innings saw Aneesh Ahmed (2/42) and Md Abdulla Khan (2/24) lead the KIYC bowling attack as SS Asique Luhan and Md Kaosar picked up a wicket apiece.
In reply, 10-man KIYC were bowled out for 117 runs in 23.3 overs despite Md Tajimur's 38 as Khundrakpam Aden struck 3 wickets for 27 runs in his spell of 5 overs.
N Surash, Malesh Kumar Ngangbam, Khumukcham Romesh, Rajkumar Thapa and Hijam Anilkumar Singh also fetched a wicket each to set up the KIYC collapse within 23.3 overs and gave THAU third Group A victory in 7 matches. It was also KIYC's seventh straight loss in the tourney.
Ngambam Malesh Kumar who blazed off a half century and picked up a wicket was adjudged man of the match.
Meanwhile at Luwangpokpa Cricket Stadium, YWC-Patsoi capped their Group B campaign with a 3 wicket win over SSU-Singjamei who are still in the race for semi-final berths despite the loss (second in 6 matches).
It was the fourth win over the Patsoi team but they could not make it to the knock-out having finished 5th in the table after playing all 7 matches.
Sent in to bat first SSU piled up a moderate total of 208 runs for 5 wickets in 40 overs despite Laikhuram Jagat pressing them hard and returned with a bowling figures of 4.30 in his spell of 8 overs.
Shamurailatpam Deepankar Sharma was unbeaten on 72 as SSU had a positive start with Md Akip Hussain (30) and Thangjam Somorjit (31) forging 50 runs for the first wicket stand.
Deepankar and Dingku G (25) also forged a 44-run partnership for the 3rd wicket before the innings ended at 208 for 5.
Chasing 209 for the win, YWC-P had a smooth start with Laikhuram Jagat and Grison Laitonjam adding 54 together before L Jagat was run out for 21 in 6.4 overs.
The chase got slow for a while with Grison bowled out for 28 by Jayananda P in the 8th over and Konsam Kishan was run out for 8 and Johnson Lai bowled out for 2 by Sujeet L to make it 94 for 4.
Ashiskumar, who came in for L Jagat, kept the scoreboard ticking and forged a 53 run partnership for the fifth wicket with Thoungamba M (18) before he was caught out by Th Somorjit for 48 runs off 90 balls in Jayananda's bowling as the scoreboard read 195.
Khedabarth Khundrakpam (29) and Daniel Lhunminthang then further pushed the team near the target before Khedabarth fell for the 7th wicket.
Daniel (10) and Nickel Loukrakpam (1) then steered the team to winning 209 in 38.4 overs.
Jayananda P was the pick of the SSU bowlers claiming three for 36 runs in his spell of 7.4 overs.
Laikhuram Jagat who picked 4 wickets and added 21 runs was adjudged man of the match.
Tomorrow's matches
NAPSA vs YPHU at Luwangpokpa Cricket Stadium
IBSA vs NCA at Model Hr Secondary School and Oriental College ground