38th Men's State Level Polo TourneyTekcham PC, Major Karan PC book semi-final berths

By Our Staff Reporter
IMPHAL, Jan 24 : The semi-final line up of the 38th Men's State Level Polo Tournament organised by the All Manipur Polo Association with Tekcham Polo Club, Major Karan Polo Club sealing the remaining berths today at Mapal Kangjeibung.
In the third quarter final match of the tournament, Tekcham Polo Club outlasted Lamphel Polo Club-A 10-2 as P Jotin grabbed four goals and H Mohindro added three.
Tekcham Polo Club led the first chukker 2-1 as S Sadananda and S Ranjit scored a goal each for the team against one for Lamphel Polo Club-A scored by Abung Sarangthem.
Tekcham Polo Club found two more goals in the second chukker, one each by M Doren and P Jotin to make it 4-2 as Abung Sarangthem scored his second and Lamphel Polo Club-A's last goal.
In the third chukker, H Mohindro scored one and P Jotin scored twice to give Tekcham Polo Club a 7-2 lead before P Jotin scored one and H Mohindro scored twice to make it 10-2.
Later in the last quarter final match, Major Karan Polo Club edged out MPSC-C in a closely fought match.
Eyeing the last semi-final berth, the two sides were locked at 3-3 till halfway and MPSC-C were even in the lead after at the end of third chukker but Major Karan Polo Club added two goals in the fourth chukker to change the complexion of the game and set up semi-final date with Tekcham Polo Club.
Th Santosh and O Rozer added a goal each in the first chukker for Major Karan Polo Club against S Bimol's double for MPSC-C and L Thomson scored one in the second chukker as Bimol added his third of three goals in the same chukker to make it 3-3 at halftime.
T Roshan gave MPSC-C a 4-3 lead adding one in the third chukker but Th Santosh and O Rozer chipped in a goal apiece in the final chukker to end the game 5-4.
X-Polo Club will face MPSC-B in the first semi-final match on January 27 before Major Karan PC take on Tekcham PC in the other semi-final match later on the same day.