MSL winners KLASA FC question AMFA's motive to ignore nomination for I-League 2


sports photo
Our Correspondent
Bishnupur, Jan 3 : Keinou Library and Sports Association  (KLASA) FC have come out heavily against the All Manipur Football Association (AMFA) after being snubbed from nomination to I-League 2 which was previously called I-League Second Division.
Addressing media persons during a press conference at KLASA FC office in Keinou, president of the club Y Norton questioned as to why AMFA has not nominated the club, who have emerged winners back to back in the recent two editions, for the I-League 2 which is  third tier competition in India's football league system after Indian Super League and I-League.
Being the winners of the State's highest tier league tournament, KLASA FC have all criteria fulfilled to feature in the I-League 2, said Y Norton while condemning AMFA for not considering the well deserved team for the said third tier tournament (I-League 2).
Such a move has greatly demoralised the players and officials of the club who have been, with the support of many sections, working their best to compete in State's top tier tournaments, he said.
What is more surprising is the nomination of a team which do not fulfil any of the criterion for the league tournament by the apex governing body of footballing in the State, he said while drawing the attention of Chief Minister N Biren and Youth Affairs and Sports Minister Govindas Konthoujam to look into the matter and do justice.
Norton also appealed to civil organisations concerned to intervene and come out against the "erratic decision" of AMFA to nominate a non deserving team by ignoring two time Manipur State League winners, KLASA FC.
Image of Manipur which is regarded as Sports' Powerhouse in the country will be tarnished if such irregularities continue to exist in the State's sports environment, said Norton while maintaining that KLASA FC will launch a movement if the decision is not rolled back at the earliest.
The media event was also attended by KLASA FC's vice president M Ravi Singh, secretary Ch Rakesh; treasurer Dr Ch Ranjit; manager M Kenedy and other functionaries of the club.