State Level Polo TournamentsLinthoinganbi Kangjei Lup, Thoubal Dist Polo Assn emerge women and junior boys' champions


sports photo
By Our Staff Reporter
IMPHAL, Jan 4 : Linthoinganbi Kangjei Lup (LKL) and Thoubal District Polo Association (TDPA) were crowned champions in the 18th Women's and 6th Junior Boys (U-16) State Level Polo Tournament organised by the All Manipur Polo Association at Mapal Kangjeibung.
In the women's final match, LKL overwhelmed Chingkheihunba Polo Club (CHPC) by 9-1 goals to clinch the top honour thanks to M Priya's four and doubles from Kh Habe and M Bijenty Devi.
With M Bijenty and M Priya scoring a goal each, LKL were 2-0 ahead at the end of first chukker before Kh Deventy and Priya added a goal each in the second chukker to make it 4-0.
Kh Have, M Bijenty and Priya then pumped in a goal each in the third chukker to give LKL a 7-0 lead as CHPC riders remained clueless for almost throughout the game. I Sangeeta of CHPC scored a face saving goal in the second minute of the final chukker before M Priya and Kh Habe chipped in a goal apiece to secure the 9-1 victory.
Meanwhile in the junior boys' final staged earlier, TDPA rode on trebles from M Abhigyan and Th Pamheiba to seal a 7-3 victory over Arbin Polo Club.
M Abhigyan opened the scoring for the Thoubal team before they conceded a self goal to make it 1-1 at the end of the first chukker. TDPA however took a 3-1 lead at halfway with Abhigyan and Th Pamheiba scoring a goal each in the second chukker.
The third chukker saw Okram Rahul of TDPA and K Bonyson of Arbin Polo Club adding a goal each to make it 5-2.
In the penultimate chukker, A Bijoy added another goal to Arbin Polo Club's tally but M Abhigyan completed his treble in the 5th minute before Pamheiba scored two goals back to back to complete his treble and 7-3 thrashing of Arbin Polo Club.