East Zone Inter University Hockey TournamentsMU announces men and women's Hockey teams, men's Kabaddi team

By Our Staff Reporter
Imphal, Nov 10 : The Department of Sports, Manipur University has announced the names of players selected to represent the university in the forthcoming men and women's East Zone Inter University Hockey Tournaments.
The men's tournament is scheduled to be held from December 5 to 10 at Sambalpur University, Odisha. The players named in the squad are as follows.
Goalkeepers : S Bashu of Standard Col, S Pinaren of Standard Col; Defenders : Morish M of Standard Col, Sh Johnson of Standard Col, P Malemnganba of Standard Col, K Manisana of YK Col;
Midfielders : W Kartik of CI Col, L Kirun of BMC, M Borish of NBC, Sh Thoi of Std Col, S Sanson of MU, N Geetchandra of UNACCO Col; Forwards : Shilheiba Lisham of KPC, Rishi Yumnam of Liberal Col, L Malemnganba of Std Col, L Michael of UNACCO Col, Jabson Naorem of Std Col and Ksh Jeshper of Liberal Col.
S Rikesh of Std Col, S Nikoson of NIELIT, L Nelix of Manipur Col and Y Climax of Manipur Col were named in the reserved list.
Meanwhile the women athletes named to represent MU in the zonal tourney due to be scheduled are as follows.
Goalkeepers : Linthoi Y of SSGGC, K Chaoba of TSPMWC; Defenders : W Romita of TSPMWC, Ch Rebika of Oriental Col, K Pilu Sharma of TSPMWC, Reena Koijam of TSPMWC; Midfielders : RK Laksana of Modern Col, N Deena of TSPMWC, S Lanchenbi of MU, L Manshi of MU, S Nargis of MU; Forwards : K Pushpa of SSBBCC, K Priyanka of MBC, Sh Monalisa of NGC, RK Muktasana of SSGGC, Meiteileima N of Manipur Col, M Basko of MU and RK Nitasana of Modern Col.
Ng Ranjita of NGC, L Thoithoi of NGC, H Dayani of NGC and H Diana of NGC were named in the reserved list.
The  athletes named for the zonal tournaments were informed to report at the Department of Sports, MU on November 15 at 11 am.
The department also announced the men's team for East Zone Inter University Kabaddi Tournament to be hosted by Maharaja Sriram Chandra Bhanjadeo University, Odisha from November 15 to 18. The players selected to represent MU at the tournament are M Menson, Ch Iranjit, L Bidigan, L Malemnganba and L Petterjit of Mayai Lambi Col; Manjur and Sameer of Lilong Haoreibi Col; S Nganba, Y Morish and Rinku Athokpam of Ng Mani Col; S Asananda of Kha Manipur Col and L Rohan of Pole Star Col.
Further, M Bulu of YKC, Y Athouba of KPC, Ch Leewing of NIELIT, Oliver Paya of MU and N Leishemba of JCRE were named in the reserved list.