Plate Tourney : PSC post 6-wicket victory over SU


sports photo
By Our Staff Reporter
IMPHAL, Nov 8 : Gautam enjoyed a fifer as PSC-Thangmeiband Polem Leikai notched up a 6-wicket win over SU-Sagolband Moirang Leirak in the ongoing 8th MNCA Plate Tournament at Kongba Dhobi Lampak today.
SU opted to bat first after winning the toss but wickets tumbled in regular intervals and were bundled out in 30.3 overs for 139 runs.
PSC then chased down the target in 22.1 overs with 6 wickets left to spare as Kenny led the batting with a 46-ball 51.
Earlier in SU innings, Kenedy 27, Rahul 22 and Max 18 made most of the runs for the team before Gautam (5/8 in 5.3 overs) and Kenny (3/24 in 8 overs) gave them a tough time and sped up the batting collapse.
Martin and Chandreshwar of PSC also shared a wicket apiece in this innings.
In reply, Sagarjit (17), Prasantajit (15), Kenny (51), Lellel (16) contributed double digit scores before Gautam (10-ball 19 not out) and Homenjit (7-ball 9 not out) finished off the chase.
Herojit, Robin, Kenedy and Bikram picked a wicket each in a lost cause.
Gautam of PSC was eventually adjudged man of the match.
Elsewhere at Lairenjam Public Ground, NCA put in SSU to bat first and bowl them out for 91 runs within 18.5 overs and eased to target in 19.2 overs losing five wickets.
Anand (34) was the highest scorer for SSU in their innings which saw Robinhood (4/9 in 3 overs) and Hilbert (2/14 in 3.5 overs) sharing a bulk of 6 wickets.
Robinhood was unbeaten on 23 in the chase, the highest by any batter to help NCA secure the victory despite Deepankar (3/28) and Bolanath (2/29) of SSU doing their best.
Robinson was declared man of the match.
At Khangabok Cherapur Public Ground, KIYC registered  a 16-run victory over MPA by defending a total of 151 runs .
Put in to bat first, KIYC were bowled out for 151 runs in 35.4 overs despite Th Rajiv (48) and Md Abdulla's (30) significant strikes as Priyokumar of MPA ran riot on the way to his 6/31. Joychandra, Rohit, Sanatomba and Nando also claimed a wicket each in this innings.
Akib Sheikh (3/18) and Th Rajiv (4/32) then combined well to devastate MPA line up in the chase and held them to 135 all out in 37 overs.
Ruman (36) and Muhinikanta (20*) were the main run getters for MPA.
Th Rajiv who produced an all-round performance was adjudged man of the match.