YPHU, CYCLONE notch up convincing wins in Veteran T-20 Cricket Tournament


sports photo
By Our Staff Reporter
IMPHAL, Jan 31 : YPHU-Lalambung crushed CHAMP-Khagempalli by 7 wickets as CYCLONE-Thangmeiband thumped YCC-Wangkhei by 6 wickets in today's Group A matches of the ongoing 10th Manipur Veteran T-20 Cricket  Tournament at Luker Ground.
At Luker ground, YPHU kicked off their campaign on a winning note as Bedamohan (4/12) enjoyed a four wicket haul to restrict CHAMP who opted to bat first at 102 for 9 and set up the victory.
Robinson and Lalboy with identical 24 runs were the highest scorers for CHAMP in their innings which also saw Pyarlal of YPHU snapping two wickets and Ponil and Gyanranjan claiming a wicket each.
In the chase, YPHU reached the target in 103 runs for three wickets within 15.3 overs courtesy A Ryder (27*), Hemanta (18), Kenny (19) and Daneshor (20).
Narjit, Sanjoy and Lalboy of CHAMP managed a wicket each in a lost cause.
Bedamohon of YPHU was adjudged man of the match for his brilliant bowling performance.
Later in the day, CYCLONE bowled out YCC for 86 runs and chased down the target in 14.3 overs with 6 wickets left to spare.
Lamnganba (4/5) and Rohindro (2/14) led the CYCLONE bowling attack to dismiss CYCLONE for the paltry total and rode on Shashikumar (29 not out), Bikram (13) and Rohindro (16 not out) to seal the victory.
For YCC, Robinson (16), Naresh (13) and Shantikumar (13) were notable batters and Santikumar picked 2 wickets for 17 runs in CYCLONE innings.
CYCLONE's Lamnganba who picked four wickets and scored 7 runs was named man of the match.
Tomorrow's matches
NAPSA vs KCC ; Model Club vs LCCC