MNCA Elite TournamentBijoykumar bowls MPSC to second victory, TRAU post fourth win


sports photo
By Our Staff Reporter
IMPHAL, Mar 12 : Maibam Bijoykumar grabbed a fifer as MPSC-Manipur Central Jail notched up a 73 run victory over SCCC-Singjamei Thongam Leikai while TRAU-Kwakeithel thumped RULE-Malom by 5 wickets in today's matches of the ongoing 7th MNCA W Prahlada and W Ramananda Elite Tournament.
At Khangabok Part III Cherapur Public Ground, MPSC were bowled out for 144 runs in 35.4 overs after electing to bat first but Maibam Bijoykumar made up for the batting implode by taking five wickets to skittle out SCCC for a paltry total of 71 runs within 21.2 overs and set up the huge win.
Ngangom Sudesh (35 off 60 balls), Sagolshem Sunil (30 off 39 balls) and Soubam Kingson (25) were the main run getters for MPSC as SCCC's skipper Sandeep Chakraborty (3/17 in 5.4 overs) and Lishan Khaidem (3/18 in 8 overs) wreaked havoc to finish with three wicket hauls.
Basant, Pinkey Sanasam and Oinam Pradeep of SCCC also picked a wicket each before their batting collapsed in the chase.
Indrabam S Koijam of MPSC removed the SCCC openers cheaply to give their rivals an early jolt before Maibam Bijoykumar took centrestage and claimed four wickets in succession including two in the second and third deliveries of the 9th over. Bijoykumar then completed his fifer (5/20 in 8 overs) by removing Jaali Ahmed Chisti who emerged SCCC's top scorer with 18 runs.
Sarangthem Shangker also chipped in with a three wicket haul (3/15 in 5.2 overs) including the last two batters to trigger the SCCC's collapse at 71 in 21.2 overs.
Bijoykumar was eventually adjudged man of the match.
Elsewhere at Model Hr Secondary School and Oriental College ground, TRAU bowled out RULE for 185 runs in 39 overs who opted to bat first despite Nongthombam Denin's late unbeaten 65-ball 61 and Ayekpam Rakesh's 47-ball 43 through concerted bowling effort and chased down the target within 30.2 overs with 5 wickets left to spare.
Senate Mayengbam, Priyojit Kangabam, Amritakaran Yumnam, Abdul Kasim and Anand Naorem all fetched two wickets each in RULE's innings before Karnajit Yumnam (50 off 53 balls), Priyojit Kangabam (33), Bishorjit Nongmaithem (26) and Dr Siddharth Shah (36 not) steered TRAU to winning 186. Jay Singh of RULE managed two wickets as Nongthombam Sarojkumar and Sanjenbam Ananda claimed a wicket each.
Kangabam Prijojit who picked two wickets and added 33 runs was adjudged man of the match.
CRAU will play REYS in the next match tomorrow at Khangabok Part III Cherapur Public Ground.