MNCA Elite CricketPTRC and CYCLONE pick up comfortable wins


sports photo
By Our Staff Reporter
IMPHAL, Mar 14 : CYCLONE Thangmeiband and PTRC Patsoi Part IV picked up wins in today's league matches of  the ongoing 7th MNCA W Prahlada and W Ramananda Elite Tournament.
PTRC defeated Blue Hawk Khurai Lamlong by 47 runs in the first match of the day while CYCLONE beat Al-Ameen Lilong  by 49 runs in the second.
In the opening match, PTRC set a target of  280 runs with seven wickets down in the 40 over match and they bundled out their opponent for 232 in 37.2 overs at Public Ground, Khangabok Part-III Cherapur .
The top order of the Patsoi side put up a good show in the match and played  a central role in setting a high target for their opponent as opener Ngariyanbam Johnson  Singh smashed 100 runs off 101 deliveries with an astounding strike rate of 99.01.
Two other batsmen of the Patsoi side also  hit half centuries and they are Ngariyanbam Jameson Singh who knocked 58 runs off 63 balls and Jotin Singh Pheiroijam who collected 66 runs off 37 balls.
In the first innings, Wakambam Samson  Sing of Blue Hawk fell three wickets while Samsung Meitei Heisnam, Jitendra Bishan Thakur and Mutum Pritam Singh took one wicket each.
Blue Hawk, in the chase, started promisingly with skipper Mintu Chandra hitting as many as 131 runs off 120 balls but other batters succumbed to the bowling attack of  PTRC.
Including Mintu, only four batsmen of the losing side hit double digit runs and they are  Wakambam Samson Singh  (16 runs), Mutum Sudhir Singh (23 runs) and Nongthombam Ajit Singh (16 runs).
Skipper RK Rex Singh was the highest wicket taker for PTRC as he fell three wickets while his team-mates Deepak (2 wkts),  Chingakham BIdash Meitei (2 wkts) and Khaidem Joyraj Meitei (1 wkt) did the other works.
The man of the match title was given to PTRC's Ng Johnson Singh.
The second match was staged between CYCLONE and Al- Ameen at Model Higher Secondary & Oriental College Ground wherein the former secured a 49 runs victory with an all round performance from  Kishan Laishram who hit 51 runs and dismissed four wickets.
Batting first, the Thangmeiband side collected 224/8 in 40 overs with maximum runs coming from skipper Kishan Laishram who struck 51 runs off 52 balls, Maisnam Raju Singh (unbeaten 39 runs off 17 balls) Jenpu Kamei (30 runs off 36 balls) and Rohit Singh Moirangthem (22 runs off 39 balls).
The wicket takers of Al-Ameen, on the other hand, were Mustaque Mohammed (4 wkts), Akram Khan (2 wkts) and  Md Karim (2 wkts).
CYCLONE dominated the game while fielding too as they  restricted their opponent from making runs after dismissing Muhammed Al Bashid (87 runs off 92 balls) who was the highest scorer of the losing side.
The Lilong side struggled and subsequently lost the game  as their middle order and tail enders were all dismissed without giving many runs.
Md Safwan Khan who hit 24 runs off 44 balls was the second highest scorer of Al-Ameen.
Skipper Kishan Laishram did a fine job while fielding too as he alone took four wickets with an economy of 3.88 and he ultimately was declared the man of the match.