Maipakpi Memorial Trophy begins7- Star start campaign on winning note


sports photo
By Our Staff Reporter
IMPHAL, Mar 15 : 7-Star FC beat Hiyai FA 1-0 in the opening match of the 9-A Side 2nd Maipakpi Memorial State Level Football Tournament staged today at Heirok Part II Litan Makhong City Club playground.
Altogether 25 teams clubbed into eight groups are taking part in the tournament is being organised by the organising committee of the  Maipakpi Memorial Trophy in association with City Club.
The participating teams are Sangaiyumpham FC, Bolero FC, Endeavour FC, Maipakpi Memorial FA, Wangjing United, BYFY Yairipok, Brother FC, Yairipok FC, Kanglei Nahaa FC, ASA Lamding, Tam FC Sekta, Hiyai FC, 7-Star FC, Leikai FC, Amigos United, Sana FC, Chandramukhi, Irengband FC, 13 Star FC, KYDO Changamdabi, Young  Star FC Heirok, John FC Achanbigei, USCP Phayeng, DM FC Moreh and Sudakar FC.
The opening ceremony of the tournament was attended by MLAs Karam Shyam, SS Olish, Kongkham Robindro, Thangjam Arunkumar, Sheikh Noorul Hassan and husband of Late Thokchom Maipakpi, Th Ibochouba Singh.
In the opening match, 7 Star sealed a narrow 1-0 win over Hiyai FC.
The deciding goal was netted by L Roshan (40+1').
Tomorrow, Amigos United will take on Leikai FC while Bolero FC  will play Maipakpi Memorial FC.