MNCA Elite TournamentPTRC cruise to 8th straight victory, REYS thump Al-Ameen in rain-curtailed matches


sports photo
By Our Staff Reporter
IMPHAL,  Mar 17 : PTRC-Patsoi Part IV beat RULE-Malom by 13 runs for their 8th win on trot as REYS, Khwai Nagamapal Lamabam Leikai notched up a 7-wicket win over Al-Ameen, Lilong in today's rain curtailed matches of the ongoing 7th MNCA W Prahlada and W Ramananda Elite.
At Luwangpokpa Cricket Stadium, REYS restricted Al-Ameen to 103 runs for 8 in 20 overs after opting to bat first and chased down the target with 6 wickets left to spare.
Muhammed Al Bashid and Khulakpam Shahadat scored the identical 27 runs for Al-Ameen and Md Kabir added 26 runs on the way to their total of 103 runs.
Romario and Sapam Bikash Singh of REYS claimed two wickets each and Nanao Laishram, Alfred Hmar and Kiran Laishram picked up a wicket apiece to keep Al-Ameen under pressure.
In reply, Md Basir Rahaman starred with highest 48 off 52 deliveries to ease the task along with Sougrakpam Shangkar (21) and Naoshekpam Manglemba (18) before Paul Zomi (5 off 3 balls) and Alfred Hmar (3 off 5 balls) finished off the chase. Md Nasirshah Alam Nongjaimayum, Md Karim and Mustaque Mohammed managed a wicket each in this innings.
Md Basir who topscored for REYS was adjudged man of the match.
Elsewhere at Public Ground Khangabok Part III Cherapur, PTRC stretched their winning run to 8 with a 13 run victory over RULE.
In the match which was reduced to 25 overs each innings, RULE bowled out PTRC for 167 runs but slumped to 154 for 10 in exactly 25 overs for the 6th loss in 8 matches.
Chingakham Bidash shone with his bat for PTRC blasting 6 fours and 5 sixes on the way to his 43-ball 65 in their innings which saw Nongthombam Denin enjoy a three wicket haul and Rojit Angomcha, Nongthombam Sarojkumar and Sanjenbam Ananda claim two wickets each.
In the chase, RULE lost wickets in regular intervals as Jotin Pheiroijam (4/20 in 5 overs), Rex (2/35 in 5 overs) and Chingakham Bidash (2/14) wreaked through their batting line up and eventually got flattened at 154 despite Jay Singh (43) and Nongthombam Denin (44) making the most of their chances.
Ch Bidash who hit a half century and picked two wickets eventually walked away with the man of the match accolade.