IW Polo : Imphal Riding Club-B, K&MMRS-A enter quarter finals

By Our Staff Reporter
IMPHAL, Mar 26 : Imphal Riding Club-B and K&MMRS-A reached the last-8 stage of the 2nd Imphal West District Polo Tournament 2023 being underway at Mapal Kangjeibung.
In the first match of the day, Imphal Riding Club-B outclassed KRYPHSA-B 14-1 to set up a quarter final date with MPSC-B who got a first round bye.
L Abinash starred in Imphal Riding Club-B's win scoring six goals alone as O Paikhomba scored four and K Victor added three.
O Paikhomba and K Victor were on target in the opening chukker to give Imphal Riding Club-B a 2-0 lead before the team raced to a 7-1 lead after two chukkers courtesy a double from L Abinash and a goal each from O Paikhomba, K Victor and N Ranjan. Rupa Wakambam scored the only goal for KRYPHSA in this chukker.
Abinash also scored two goals each in the remaining two chukkers and O Paikhomba added a goal each to set up the big win for Imphal Riding Club-B.
Later in the day, K&MMRS-A pulled off a similar win against 7-Star PC to set up a quarter final date with Thangmeiband Youth Polo Club.
W Johny was exceptionally brilliant today firing home 7 goals alone as his teammates H Sanjoy and O Seitajit grabbed two goals apiece.
A Lamyanba and L Dhaneshwor also chipped in a goal each for the winning side as Th Thoungamba struck the only goal for 7-Star PC in the third chukker.
K&MMRS-A were 8-0 ahead till halfway adding three goals in the first chukker and five goals in the second chukker. Of the 8, four were scored by W Johny while two came from the mallet of H Sanjoy.
The third chukker saw O Seitajit complete his double to make it 9-1 before Johny scored thrice and A Lamyanba scored his only goal in the final chukker to round off the scoring 13-1.