IW District Polo TourneyMPSC-A, K&MM RS-B gallop into quarter finals


sports photo
By Our Staff Reporter
IMPHAL, Mar 27 : MPSC-A and K&MMRS-B have sealed their quarter final berths in the 2nd Imphal West District Polo Tournament with first round victories today at Mapal Kangjeibung.
In the first match of the day, MPSC-A notched up a 6-1 win over KRYPHSA-A courtesy a treble from Y Binoy.
MPSC-A took a 3-0 first chukker lead as Binoy opened the scoring just after the start and Th Ranjit scored two goals back to back in the fourth and the last minute of the chukker.
The second chukker saw Kh Dinesh scoring one in the third minute to make it 4-0 in favour of MPSC-A before  Renison Haobijam pulled back a goal for KRYPHSA-A in the 6th minute.
Both teams drew blank in the third chukker before Binoy struck twice in the final chukker to complete his treble and the 6-1 rout of KRYPHSA-A.
MPSC-A will face IRC-A in the third quarter final match on March 29.
Meanwhile in the other match of the day, M Naoba and Ch Ajit scored three goals each to hand K&MM RS-A a 9-4 win over Laman Polo Club.
The scoreboard read 2-1 at the end of the first chukker as A Bijeshwor and Ch Ajit pulled back a goal each after Angom Kishan had put Laman PC ahead in the opening minute.
The winners raced to a 5-1 lead after two chukkers as Ajit scored two more goals in the second chukker and M Naoba struck one.
It was a neck and neck competition in the third chukker with L Tarun scoring twice for the winning side and Laman Polo Club found two goals through A Kishan and O Chinglensana to make it 7-3. The final chukker saw M Naoba banging home two goals  within 3.10 minutes to extend the lead to 9-3 before A Kishan had his third to make the final scoreline read 9-4.
K&MM RS-A will square off against MPSC-C in the last quarter final match of the tournament on March 29.
MPSC-B will play IRC-B in the first quarter final match tomorrow from 2 pm before Thangmeiband Youth PC take on K&MM RS-A in the second quarter-final match from 3 pm.