IRC-A, MPSC-C enter 2nd IW District Polo Tourney semis


sports photo
By Our Staff Reporter
IMPHAL, Mar 29 : Imphal Riding Club (IRC)-A and MPSC-C made their way into the semi-finals of the 2nd Imphal West District Polo Tournament being underway at Mapal Kangjeibung.
In the third quarter final match of the tourney, IRC-A outlasted MPSC-A by 6-3 goals as L Rohit did star turn pumping in four goals alone.
L Rohit gave IRC-A a 1-0 first chukker lead before Y Binoy of MPSC-A pulled level as soon as the second chukker began. Rohit scored his second in the 5th minute of the chukker to help his team retain the lead but Binoy scored again in the 7th minute to make it 2-2 at the end of the chukker.
It was in the third chukker that IRC-A went well past MPSC-A with Omesh Gurung scoring one and Rohit scoring twice to make it 5-2.
In the final chukker, Binoy scored his third in the second chukker to reduce the gap but K Herojit scored one in the 7th minute to earn IRC-A a 6-3 victory and a semi-final berth.
Later in the day, M Jawan and S Abungcha ran riot to guide MPSC-C 17-7 past K&MM RS-B.
MPSC-C started strongly and were 7-0 ahead in the first chukker with M Jawan scoring thrice, S Abung scoring twice and S Bimbol and Viking Salam scoring a goal each.
In the second chukker, T Roshan scored thrice and S Bimol scored one to further extend the lead to 11-1 as M Naoba of  K&MM RS-B added one.
In the third chukker, MPSC-C took a 14-5 lead with Jawan scoring twice and S Abungcha scoring one while M Naoba scored twice and A Bijeshor and Ch Ajit added a goal each for the losing team.
In the final chukker, S Abungcha struck his remaining two goals as M Jawan scored his 6th to complete the 17-7 thrashing of K&MM RS-B. M Naoba and Ch Ajit managed a goal each for the losing team in this chukker.
MPSC-B will play Thangmeiband Youth PC in the first semi-final match tomorrow from 2 pm before IRC-A take on MPSC-C in the other semi-final match from 3 pm.