1st NECDC Intertstate Friendship tourneyManipur crush Meghalaya by 6 wickets, to meet Sikkim in semis


sports photo
By Our Staff Reporter
IMPHAL, Mar 31 : Manipur overwhelmed Meghalaya by 6 wickets to top Group A in the ongoing 1st NECDC Interstate Friendship Tourney hosted by Nagaland Cricket Association.
 Manipur, who thumped Arunachal Pradesh by 133 runs yesterday will now lock horns with Group B runners up Sikkim in the semi-final tomorrow.
Manipur bowled out the toss winners Meghalaya for a meagre total of 178 runs in 48.3 overs at Nagaland Cricket Stadium, Chumukedima courtesy pace-spin duo of Bishworjit Konthoujam and Kishan Laishram before chasing down the target in 38.1 overs thanks to half century knocks from Md Basir Rahman and skipper Langlonyamba Meitankeishangbam.
 With Kishan Lyngdoh taking on Manipur bowlers, Meghalaya had a positive start but the Manipur skipper caught him out off the RK Rex's bowling to reduce them to 47 for 1 in 7.5 overs.
Bikash then undone Raj Biswa for 25-ball 6 and Kishan Laishram sent off Wallambok Nongkhlaw for 2 to leave Meghalaya struggling at 66 for 3 in 14.3 overs.
When Meghalaya looked to soak up some pressure, Jotin Pheiroijam bowled out Swarajeet Das for 11 before Kishan Laishram had his second by cleaning up Arien Bonchang for 92-ball 55 and completed his three wicket haul  (3/29 in 10 overs which include 2 maidens) by trapping Anish Charak lbw for 17 runs to reduce Meghalaya to 156 for 7.
Bishworjit Konthoujam then swept the remaining order with ease enroute to his 3/36 in 9.3 overs and wrapped up Meghalaya innings at 178 in 48.3 overs.
In the chase, Manipur lost Karnajit Yumnam for 19 runs in the fourth over to Akash and Longjam Ronald (11) and Md Basir stitched together a 53-run partnership before Ronald went down for the second wicket in the 13th over.
Md Basir fell for 50 off 65 balls after taking Manipur to 115 and skipper Langlonyamba stepped up to take the team to a sniffing distance of a win before he was bowled out by Swarajeet Das for 86-ball 50 for the fourth wicket.
Jotin (30 not out) and Md Sultan Karim (4 not out) then steered the team to winning 182 for 4 in 38.1 overs.
Langlonyamba Meitankeishangbam was adjudged man of the match.