1st Men's U-19 One day TrophyPCC, RULE, BL UE HAWK victorious


sports photo
By Our Staff Reporter
IMPHAL, May 3 : PCC-Mayaikoibi, RULE-Meitram and BLUE HAWK-Khurai emerged victorious in today's matches of the ongoing 1st Men's U-19 One Day Trophy.
In a Group B match staged at Khangabok Part III Cherapur Public Ground, PCC chased down a target of 146 runs set up by Al-Ameen in 37 overs with three wickets left to spare.
After electing to bat first, Al-Ameen were bowled out for 145 runs in 28.1 overs with PCC bowlers putting in a concerted effort.
Md Sagir Ahmed was the highest scorer for the Lilong team with 44 runs as Md Amar Arshad scored 25 in their innings which saw Ajay Mahto Kumar and Laitonjam Anjan of PCC share two wickets each and four bowlers picked a wicket each.
In reply, Takhelmayum Vikash (39), Kangabam Themission (37) and Pravin Kumar (22) led the chase and took PCC to winning 148 with 3 wickets and overs left to spare. Arif Md and Md Ziour Rahman were able to claim two wickets each in this innings.
T Vikash of PCC was adjudged man of the match.
Elsewhere at Model Hr Secondary and Oriental College Ground, RULE cruised to an 83 run victory by defending a total of 159 runs against TRAU in a Group C match.
Sanjenbam Somokanta (46) and Konthoujam Sanjit (37) lead the scoring for RULE before they were bowled out for 159 runs in 26.5 overs as Mutum Swabhiman claimed three wickets and Preethson Arubam and Birbal Irom picked two wickets apiece.
Chasing 160 for the win, TRAU were devastated by Pravesh as removed five top order batters including the highest scorer Birbal Irom (16) and eventually walked away as the man of the match.
Sunil Kumar of RULE also added teeth to the bowling attack by picking two wickets as Somokanta and Rojit Angomcha picked a wicket each.
Meanwhile in a Group D match, BLUE HAWK-Khurai notched up an easy 7 wicket win by bowling out PTCC-Patsoi Part III for 144 runs in 29.2 overs and securing 145 runs in 26.4 overs.
Loukrakpam Anao (39) and M Thouba (21) were the main run getters for PTCC as Washim Khan (3/31), Moirangthem Romesh (2/39), Rex Waikhom (2/25) and Seram Nandakishore (2/12) of BLUE HAWK shone with their bowling.
In reply, Seram Nandakishore (36), Siddarth Irom (40) and Washim Khan (21 not out) made sure BLUE HAWK register a 7 wicket win.
L Anao of PTCC picked two wickets in this innings and M Gunggung grabbed one in a lost cause.
Washim Khan of BLUE HAWK was eventually adjudged man of the match.