PTCC crush ESU by 161 runs to lift MNCA Superplate tourney title


sports photo
By Our Staff Reporter
IMPHAL, May 3 : PTCC, Patsoi Part III overwhelmed ESU-Wangkhei Palace Compound by 161 runs to lift the title of the 2nd MNCA Superplate Tournament organised by Manipur Cricket Association.
PTCC won the toss and gathered 208 runs for all wickets down in 40 overs despite half centuries from Andyroshan Mandingbam and Hijam Hemachandra but their bowlers did the job well to bowl out ESU for just 47 runs within 19.2 overs and walk away with the Rs 1,50,000 richer at Kongba Khunou Dhobi Lampak.
PTCC did not have best of the start and were reduced to 37 for 3 in 9.5 overs as G Gomi was undone in the 7th over by Sanatomba and Paonam Champion (17) and Sohail  Akram (0) were removed by Thokchom Nishikanta in the 4th and the 5th deliveries of 10th over.
Andyroshan (50 off 56 balls) and Yambem Kaikuyamba (42 off 62 balls) however kept the scoreboard ticking before Hijam Hemachandra (55 off 38 balls) took the honour to take the PTCC tally past the 200-run mark.
Chitaranjan Sharma of ESU finished with best bowling figures of 4/24 in 8 overs while Nishikanta ended with 3/30 in 8 overs.
In reply, ESU batters were rocked by Sohail Akram who removed top two batters on duck and Shapam Kenjit took two more wickets to reduce them to 10/4 in 7.1 overs.
ESU further slumped to 10/5 with Sadananda Okram reducing Longjam Herojit for 7 runs. Things did not get better for ESU as Naorem Nishikanta got rid of Th Nishikanta (11) and Oliver Keit (0) and Keithelakpam Poirei (1) to leave ESU struggling at 45 for 8 in 17.1 overs.
Sohail Akram then set up the catch of M Bimananda who scored the highest 19 runs for ESU in the chase today.
Sohail Akram emerged with the best bowling figures of 3/4 in 5 overs including two maidens and claimed the man of the final match accolade carrying a cash prize of Rs 3,000 while his team mate Naorem Victor settled with 3/11 in 5.2 overs.
Runners up ESU settled for a cash prize of Rs 1,00,000.
Ningthoujam Sanjit emerged the highest run scorer of the tournament with 368 runs to his name in 6 innings while Sohail Akram of PTCC finished highest wicket taker with a haul of 25 wickets in as many as 9 innings. Sanjit and Sohail were also feted with a cash prize of Rs 5,000 each.
Chongtham Mehul Shreth of ESU who gathered 305 runs picked 19 wickets in 8 innings was adjudged player of the series and pocketed a cash prize of Rs 10,000 along with a trophy.