2nd MNCA U-19 Men's Tournament beginsSuson Yanglem hits ton, picks five in Model Club's 168 run victory


sports photo
By Our Staff Reporter
IMPHAL, Feb 10 : Suson Yanglem produced a blistering knock of 145 runs and enjoyed a fifer to hand Model Club-Chingamakha 168 run victory against YPHUC as the 2nd MNCA U-19 Men's Cricket Tournament kicked off at four different venues today.
20 teams clubbed into four groups are competing in the tournament and top two teams from each group will advance to the knock-out round.
At Lairenjam Public ground, YPHUC had to rue their decision to field first as Suson Yanglem took on their bowlers and clobbered 19 fours and 6 sixes on the way to his 81-ball 145 and Model Club's 306 for 10 in 36 overs.
YPHUC got bundled out for 138 runs in the chase as Suson scalped five crucial wickets to return with the best figures of 5/27.
Irom Sunny (4/64), Bishworaj Sharma (3/41) and Birbal Irom (2/56) shared 9 wickets for YPHUC earlier in Model Club's innings but sadly faltered in the chase despite Lann Naorem's 46 and Bishworaj's 30.
Suson, who led Model Club to Group B opening win, was eventually declared man of the match.
In the Group C match staged at Moijing Public Ground, AKSDO defeated RCA by 14 runs.
AKSDO, who won the toss and opted to bat first, got bundled out for 92 runs in 24.4 overs but successfully defended their lowly total by bowling out RCA for 78 runs within 18.5 overs.
Bishorjit Mangang 12 and Saikhom Lanchenba 27 were the double digit run getters for AKSDO in their innings which saw Aziz Mirza (3/12), Iliyas (3/18) and Md Danish Khan (2/12) sharing 8 wickets.
Chasing 93 for the win, RCA faced a stiff opposition and slumped to 78 all out as Saikhom Kaiku wreaked havoc by claiming five wickets alone (5/19) and Laishram Nirash (2/15) and Rosan Laishram (2/11) claimed two wickets apiece.
In the Group A opener staged at Model Hr Sec and Oriental College ground, YWC-Langthabal pulled off a 63 run win over CYCLONE-Thangmeiband courtesy all round performances from Yumnam Chingkheinganba and Seram Robinson.
S Robinson 45, Y Chingkheinganba 38 and Y Achouba 36 guided YWC to 199/10 in 36.4 overs. Ronak Chaudhary claimed six wickets (6/32 in 7.4 overs) and Suraj Meisnam taking two wickets (2/34) for CYCLONE but their batting department faltered and slumped to 136 all out in 26.2 overs as Chingkheinganba (4/17) and Robinson (3/25) were too hot to handle.
Only Raunak Chaudhary 33, Shinoj Khwairakpam 25 and Pukhrambam Hilbert 21 were the significant run contributors for CYCLONE in the chase.
At Khangabok Cherapur Public Ground, Al-Ameen thumped PTCC-Patsoi by 41 runs to open the Group D campaign in style.
Al Ameen racked up 206 for all wickets down in 29.1 thanks to Imanur 49 and Umar Sheikh 42 and held PTCC to 165 for 9 in allotted 35 overs riding on Naeem Ahamed (3/33), Md Ziour Rahman (2/22) and Md Sagir Ahamed (2/12).
For PTCC, Karnajit (3/40) and Laitonjam Jackson (3/37) scalped 6 wickets in a lost cause as Dhirendrakishore Naorem 46 emerged the only notable batter in the chase.