3rd MNCA U-14 Boys TournamentTh Lucky excels as PCC clinch 155-run victory against KASC

By Our Staff Reporter
IMPHAL, Feb 10 : Thokchom Lucky starred with both the bat and ball to hand PCC a comprehensive 155-run victory against KASC in a Group D match of the 3rd MNCA U-14 Boys Tournament here at THAU ground, Thangmeiband.
PCC won the toss and opted to bat first, rode on century partnerships between Lucky Thokchom and Dilshan for the first wicket and Pravin Kumar and Ajay Mahatofor the third wicket to amass 282 runs for five wickets. PCC then bundled out KASC for 127 runs in 26.5 overs for the second win on the trot courtesy of Lucky and Pravin Kumar who shared 6 wickets between them.
Lucky and Dilshan forged a significant 128 run partnership off just 68 deliveries before Dilshan was caught and bowled by Md Alfash in the 11th over.
Four deliveries later Lucky fell to Md Rahul on 69 runs (off 40 balls, 13 fours and 1 six) for the second wicket before Pravin took charge of the innings and anchored with an unbeaten 64 from 69 deliveries (9 fours).
KASC bowlers also conceded a huge 71 extra runs to facilitate PCC gathering a substantial total.
Lucky Thokchom then picked four wickets including both the openers and set up one run out and Pravin Kumar assisted with a two wicket haul (2/28) to run through the KASC line up and set up their collapse at 127.
Pebam Yoimayai, Master Anoubam and Lamnganba Nongmaithem also claimed a wicket apiece for PCC.
Eventually, Th Lucky was adjudged man of the match.
The day also saw Lilong's Al-Ameen and YWC-Langthabal eased to second straight victories respectively at Luwangpokpa Cricket Stadium and Kongba Khunou Dhobi Lampak.
Md Ashique 120 (off 100 balls, 19 fours and 3 sixes) and Shohel Akter 97 (off 58 balls, 15 fours and 3 sixes) were unbeaten for the second wicket as Al-Ameen posted a huge total of 311 runs against CYSA-Khangabok after electing to bat first.
Md Duwa Aziz (4/7 in 3 overs), Raqib Nongjaimayum (2/3 in 0.5 balls) and Md Ashique (1/2 in 2 overs) then set up CYSA collapse at 43 runs in 11.5 overs.
Meanwhile, YWC-L notched up a 7-wicket win over SCCC  in a low scoring encounter.
SCCC, won the toss and opted to bat first, but were bundled out for just 55 runs in 14 overs as Sanjenbam Indrakumar (3/13), Seram Bidyachandra (2/6) and Seram Tondonsana (2/10) ripped apart their batting line up. Seram Tondonsana then led YWC to the target at the cost of three wickets in 4.1 overs by scoring 20 runs.
In a Group A match staged at PTRC ground TCMDC Thongju sealed a huge 97 run victory against NCA-Nambol courtesy of Vishonath Laishram's six wicket haul (6/15) for the first win in two matches.
Toss winners TCMDC added 187 runs for 5 wickets on the back of Yumnam Tomthinganba 47 and Chandrasekhar Sharma 38 and held NCA to 90 all out in 14.4 overs with the help of L Vishonath.
For NCA, Thongam Rahul had enjoyed a four wicket haul (4/24) before their dismal chase.