3rd MNCA U-14 Boys Cricket TournamentTh Lucky slams 171 in PCC's 140-run victory

By Our Staff Reporter
IMPHAL, Feb 6 : Lucky Thokchom slammed an 84-ball 171 and Pravin Kumar struck an unbeaten 41-ball 53 as PCC-Kwakeithel Mayai Koibi notched up an emphatic 140-run (DLS) victory over Sagolband United in a rain curtailed Group D match of the 3rd MNCA U-14 Boys Cricket Tournament at Luwangpokpa Cricket Stadium.
PCC won the toss and racked up 332/6 thanks to Lucky and Pravin Kumar after electing to bat first. In reply, SU were 51/4 after 14.4 before rain hit the match and the target was revised at 192 runs in 14.4 overs. Eventually PCC emerged victorious by 140 runs.
Lucky century knock was studded with 20 fours and 11 sixes while Pravin smacked 9 fours on the way to his 53.
Nongam Rajkumar bagged two wickets for SU while K Anderson and S Hemjit picked up a wicket apiece.
For PCC, Pravin Kumar claimed two wickets as L Rojer  and L Nongmaithem chipped in with a wicket apiece.
In a Group A match staged at THAU Ground, James Sahu scored an unbeaten 51 off 41 balls and picked two wickets (2/16) to hand SHADOW-Thangmeiband an 18-run victory over TCMDC-Thongju.
Put in to bat first, SHADOW piled up 149/5 in alloted 25 overs riding on James Sahu and Yohenba Konjengbam 48 and dismissed TCMDC for 131 in 24.1 overs on the back of Arubam Goshan (2/8) and James Sahu (2/16).
For TCMDC, S Dipachandra picked three wickets (3/26) and N Ajit claimed two wickets (2/23).
In the Group B match staged at PTRC Ground, YWC-Langthabal notched up a 6-wicket win over YPHUC-Lalambung .
Kelvinson Khoisnam enjoyed a four wicket haul to help toss winners YWC bundle out YPHUC for 96 runs within 21.4 overs before Daneil Seram 28 and Indrakumar Sanjenbam 23 guided YWC to winning 99/4 in 15.5 overs.
S Indrakumar and S Bidyachandra also claimed two wickets for YWC as Irom Ishwor, who added highest 35 picked four wickets (4/27) for YPHUC.
Elsewhere at Kongba Dhobi Lampak, SSC-Porompat beat Al-Ameen-Lilong by 10 runs after posting 140/8 in 30 overs as Ashif (3/30), Nadir (3/21) and Jaheer (2/29) ran riot.
For Al-Ameen Md Duwa, Md Ashique and Raqib Nongjaimayum picked up a wicket each as Ashif 19, Ajman 16 and Jaheer led the SSC scoring.