1st Governor's Cup BoxingA Shitaljit wins Elite Men's 80 kg title

sports photo
By Our Staff Reporter
IMPHAL, Feb 8 : Athokpam Shitaljit clinched the Elite Men's 80 kg title in the 1st Governor's Cup Boxing Championship as Toijam Bhanumati sealed the elite women's 50 kg title.
Shitaljit of MBA had an RSC win over ESA's Ksh Lamnganba to win the gold while ESA's T Bhanumati beat SRBA-A's M Rosemary for the top honour.
Tubur Sampar Marina of ESA prevailed 5-0 over Wangjam Ethoibi of SRBA-A for the Elite Women's 48 kg title as Naorem Bindiya claimed the 66 kg title as Th Alena of MKBA-A retired.
In the other Elite Men's final bouts, Md Nazimuddin of SRBA-A had an RSC win over SRBA-B's Ch Ryan for the 48 kg title, Jackson Pukhrambam of MKBA sealed an RSC win in the first round against PBA in the 54 kg final, MKBA-A's P Kingson prevailed 5-0 over SBA's Th Manao for the 57 kg title, Amom Premananda of SBA beat K Manglemba of MBA 4-1 for the 60 kg title, PBA's Th Leninson drubbed MKBA-A's N Khambaton 5-0 for the 63.5 kg title, ESA's M Sanathoi sealed an RSC win in the first round against SBA's Md Tajuddin for the 67 kg final, UBA's Laiphrakpam Chandrabose edged SRBA-A's N Jackson 4-3 for the 71 kg title and Ningthoujam Borish of AUS overwhelmed ESA's L Jamson for the 75 kg title.
Youth Men
Winners of 7 youth men's weight categories were decided today. Tompok Thokchom of MKBA-A registered the 51 kg title as his rival Sh Rockey of NBA retired voluntarily before Bilat Leivon Kom of MKBA-A added another gold medal by beating M Khristino Renish of STC-Imphal in the 54 kg final.
The 57 kg category gold went to ESA's Lourembam Malemnganba who edged STC-Utlou's Kh Bikash 4-3 as ESA's Laishubam Radheshyam hammer SRBA-A's E Sunanda 5-0 for the 60 kg title.
Meanwhile, Chinglemba Moirangthem of MKBA-A outclassed STC-Imphal's Aribam Sakil 4-1 for the 63.5 kg title as Thongam Bikiraj clinched SBA the 71 kg category gold by beating PBA's K Rodick and STC-Utlou's Leimapokpam Rahul prevailed 5-0 over NSA's Soibam Yoihenba for the 75 kg category crown.
Youth Women
The day also saw Thiyam Apsara of ESA seal the youth women's 48 kg title with an easy 5-0 win over S Bandana of STC-Imphal as STC-Imphal's Huidrom Karuna beat PBA's Ksh Zeena 4-1 for the 52 kg title and Ahongshangbam Kajal edged STC-Imphal's N Manda 4-3 for the 54 kg title.