Pravabati College, Biramangol College crowned men's and women's Thang-Ta champs


sports photo
By Our Staff Reporter
IMPHAL, Feb 8 : Pravabati College and Biramangol College emerged men's and women's champions in the Rajkumar Sanahal Singh Memorial Manipur University Inter College Thang-Ta (M/W) Competition hosted by TS Paul Manipur Women's College, Mongshangei under the aegis of Manipur University Sports Committee.
Pravabati men's team collected three gold medals to claim the champions title as Manipur University bagged 2 gold and 3 silver medals to finish runners up.
For Pravabati College, L Lenin, Century Heisnam and Y Deepak won gold medals in the Phunaba 62 kg, Phunaba 66 kg and Thanglon and Khonglon Khutlon events.
Gold medals for MU were won by Leisham Yengkhomba in the Thang-Haiba event and Y Umakanta Meitei in the Phunaba for 58 kg.
Meanwhile, Biramangol College bagged 3 gold medals to seal the women's crown thanks to Divya Chanu who beat Moirang College's Shyllivia in the 48 kg category Phunaba event, S Priyanka who topped +64 kg category Phunaba event and Nongthombam Priyanka who topped Thang-Haiba event.
Mayai Lambi College finished runners up with Y Pinky and Y Dayarani winning gold medals in Phunaba events for 52 and 56 kg categories.
As many as 21 athletes from 9 colleges participated in the men's competition while 12 athletes from 6 colleges competed in the women's competition.