TRAU, ESU, Model Club victorious in 8th MNCA Elite Tournament


sports photo
By Our Staff Reporter
IMPHAL, Mar 23 : TRAU, Kwakeithel; ESU, Wangkhei Palace Compound and Model Club, Chingamakha emerged victorious in today's matches of the 8th MNCA W Prahlada and W Ramananda Elite Tournament 2023-24.
Model Club earned a 19-run victory against CRAU, Khamnam Bazar for the second win in 6 matches at Luwangpokpa Cricket Stadium.
Model Club racked up 149 before losing all the wickets after being put in to bat first and held CRAU to 130 all out in 38.1 overs to earn the 19 run victory.
Langlonyamba starred with a 67-ball 62 for Model as Ronald Ningombam 19, Dibak Naorem 17, Thoudam Deepak and Bipinkumar Langpoklakpam 10 to add double digit runs for the team.
Lamabam Ajay picked three wickets for CRAU (3/8) as Takhellambam Kala (2/22) and Heisnam Joyhenba (2/29) shared four wickets.
In reply, CRAU had an unsettling start and eventually collapsed at 130 despite Takhellambam Kala's late 30 and identical 23 from Lamabam Jotin and Heishnam Joyhenba.
Dibak Naorem returned with the best bowling figures of (4/32) among Model Club bowlers and eventually walked away with the man of the match accolade.
Sunil Salam also picked two wickets for Model Club as Loukrakpam Superjit, Waikhom Priyokumar and Langlonyamba picked a wicket apiece.
Meanwhile, TRAU cruised to their third victory in 6 matches with a 10-wicket thrashing of SCCC, Singjamei Thongam Leikai at Lairenjam Public Ground today.
TRAU rode on Somorjit Salam (6/11), Mutum Swabhiman (3/6) and Thangjam Rishi (1/15) to bowl out SCCC for 40 runs in 16.3 overs and chased down the target within 4 overs courtesy of the unbroken first wicket partnership between Prafullomani 38 and Yumnam Karnajit 6.
Somorjit Salam was eventually announced man of the match.
Elsewhere at Khangabok Cherapur Public Ground, ESU thrashed PTCC, Patsoi by 4 wickets for the second victory in 6 matches.
ESU bowled out toss winners PTCC for 62 runs in 22.3 overs riding on Hanjabam Naoba (3/1), Chitaranjan Sharma (3/13) and Lourembam Dipu (2/11) and took just 17 overs to ease to the winning 65 for 6 wickets on the back of Yumkham Balajit 14, Hanjabam Naoba Sharma 16 and Yumkham Shivajit  13.
Chitaranjan Sharma was adjudged man of the match.