MNCA Elite TournamentPTRC beat RULE by 22 runs for third win


sports photo
By Our Staff Reporter
IMPHAL, Mar 24 : PTRC, Patsoi Part IV registered their third win in three games by beating RULE, Meitram by 22 runs today at Luwangpokpa Cricket Stadium, Luwangsangbam.
Toss winners PTRC decided to bat first and gathered a fighting 140 in 34 overs losing all the wickets and defended their total nicely by bowling out PTRC for 118 in 33.5 overs.
Robinson Sougaijam led the scoring for PTRC adding highest 39 as RK Rex 20, Ngariyanbam Jameson 18, Bishworjit Konthoujam 17 and Rabi Sahu 15 managed double digit figures. The innings saw Nongthombam Sarojkumar (3/42) pick three for RULE as Thokchom Kishan (2/27), Rojit Angomcha (2/19) and Avinash Asmali (2/12) shared 6 wickets and Jay Singh claimed one wicket.
In reply, RULE batting department faltered and ended up gathering 118/10 as PTRC bowlers put in a concerted bowling effort.
RK Rex inflicted early damage to RULE innings by removing Ch Ishworjit 4 and Jay Singh 28 to make it 86/4 in 26.5 overs before Jotin Pheiroijam joined the party to pick two wickets to further derail the cause before Bishworjit Konthoujam who clinched the fifth wicket swept the last two batters to return with best bowling figures of 3/22 in 6.5 overs.
Sanjenbam Somokanta was unbeaten on 23 off 40 balls for RULE. Sanjenbam Suresh 21 also scored double digit runs for RULE.
Bishworjit Konthoujam who added 17 runs and picked three wickets was adjudged man of the match.