8th MNCA Elite TournamentJotin hits ton, Joyraj picks four as PTRC hammer Model Club by 202 runs


sports photo
By Our Staff Reporter
IMPHAL, Apr 12 : Jotin Pheiroijam produced a masterful knock of a 79-ball 141 and Khaidem Joyraj picked four as PTRC, Patsoi Part IV crushed Model Club, Singjamei Chingamakha by 202 runs at Khangabok Cherapur Public Ground in the ongoing 8th MNCA W Prahlada and W Ramananda Elite Tournament.
PTRC, who elected to bat first got off to a flying start and posted a massive total of 399/9 in the allotted 45 overs courtesy of a massive 231 run third wicket partnership between Jotin Pheiroijam (141; 11 fours and 9 sixes) and Ngariyanbam Jameson 79 (7 fours and 1 six) after Ngariyanbam Johnson struck a 50-ball 79 (9 fours and 5 sixes).
Model Club however found the target too big and slumped to 197 all out in 42.5 overs as Khaidem Joyraj (4/48 in 9 overs), Deepak (3/38 in 7.5 overs) and RK Rex (2/16 in 7 overs) proved troublesome.
Thoudam Deepak 37, Veteshor Sharma 27, Pechimayum Amarjit 27 not out and Ronald Ningombam 21 were the main run getters for Model Club in the chase.
Earlier, Sunil Salam (3/71) and Dibak Naorem (2/52) shared five wickets for Model Club as W Priyokumar, M Langlonyamba and Veteshor Sharma claimed a wicket apiece.
Jotin Pheiroijam, who led PTRC to their fifth win in 9 matches, was eventually adjudged man of the match.
Priyojit bowls TRAU to 8 wicket win over REYS
Elsewhere at Lairenjam Public Ground, TRAU, Kwakeitel registered a commanding 8-wicket win over REYS, Khwai Nagamapal Lamabam Leikai.
 TRAU opted to field first and rode on Priyojit Kangabam 's five wicket haul (5/11 in 6 overs) and Mutum Swabhiman's three wicket haul (3/13 in 13) to dismantle REYS all out for 103 runs in 31.1 overs.
They chased down the target in 15.5 overs courtesy of Yumnam Karnajit 39 not out and Pukhrambam Prafullomani's quickfire 52 off 28 balls (9 fours and 2 sixes) losing just 2 wickets. Both the wickets were claimed by Laishram Kiran.
Priyojit was eventually adjudged man of the match.
Bowlers shine in ESU's 7 wicket win
The day also saw ESU registering their third win in 9 matches by hammering Al-Ameen by 7 wickets at Luwangpokpa Cricket Stadium.
Put in to bat first, Al-Ameen had a torrid time facing ESU bowlers and were bundled out for 82 runs within 31.4 overs with Chitaranjan Sharma (3/22), Chongtham Mehul (2/6) and Lourembam Dipu (2/23) sharing 7 wickets.
ESU then rode on Chongtham Mehul Shreth (36) and Yumkham Shivajit (18) to post a winning 84 for 3 wickets within 18.3 overs.
Najarul Islam (2/22) and Khulakpam Shahadat Ali (1/22)  led the bowling attack for Al-Ameen.
Chongtham Mehul Shreth was declared man of the match.