Model Club, TDBA, LMYVA, ESU victorious as 14th State Junior Boys' Basketball C'ship gets underway


sports photo
By Our Staff Reporter
IMPHAL, Apr 12 : The 14th State Junior Basketball Championships for boys and girls kick-started today at Brahmapur Nahabam Basketball Court under the aegis of the Manipur Basketball Association.
10 boys' teams (clubbed into two groups) and 3 girls' teams are competing for top honours of the championships.
The opening day saw the completion of four boys' matches.
In the inaugural match (Group B League) held this morning, Model Club Chingamakha overwhelmed NETA, Kangla Sangomsang 40-14 courtesy of valuable contributions from Lamyanba, Chinglemba and H Rahul. It was an easy outing for Model Club as they led the first period 13-6 before easing to a 29-8 lead after two periods. They recorded a 6-4 lead in the third period and a 5-2 lead in the last period to walk away 40-14 winners.
H Lamyanba led the scoring for the winners by adding 13 points as I Chinglemba and H Rahul added 10 and 8 points. Anish also added 3 points to the team's tally as N Mahesh, H Lanchenba and W Harry scored two points apiece.
For NETA, Ng Thomas scored four points as Ng Dushan and Y Robert managed 3 points apiece and W Langamba and W Cosco added two points apiece.
In the Group A opener that began from 7.45 am this morning, Thoubal District Basketball Association (TDBA) sealed a 20-15 win over Youth Club, Uripok courtesy of N Aphington (10 pts), Y Obed (4) and three points apiece from M Naocha and L Borish.
RK Devraj (8 pts), Y Taibanganba (6 pts) and Wilson (2 pts) were the scorers for the Uripok team.
In the second Group A match staged this afternoon, ESU, Wangkhei prevailed 70-40 over CYLC, Chingamathak as Rishikanta dazzled to score 33 points alone. Krishnacharya 16 and Neuton 14 also made significant contributions to the team's tally as Toti and Kenedy added 5 and 2 points respectively.
For CYLC, David led the scoring with 15 points to his name as Lourembam added 10 points and Athouba clinched 8 points.
Meanwhile in the Group B match staged this evening, LMYVA, Lalambung scored a 40-23 win over Chandel District Basketball Association (CDBA) riding on Mutum Lanchenba (16 pts),  Heisnam Zenith (6 pts), Suraj Paul (4 pts), Loktongbam Rahul (4 pts), Seth Golmei (3 pts), Mutum Owen (2), Konjengbam Nikhil (2 pts) and Thongam Thoungamba (2).
For CDBA, Blesson Pashel led the scoring with 9 points followed by Sainik Kanthuwn (6), Giftson Anal (6) and Phowlring Wangshol (2).