14th State Junior Boys Basketball ChampionshipModel Club, LMYVA, ESU post second straight victories

By Our Staff Reporter
IMPHAL, Apr 14 : Model Club, Chingamakha and LMYVA, Lalambung posted second Group B victories and ESU, Wangkhei registered their second Group A win in the ongoing 14th State Junior Boys Basketball Championship at Brahmapur Nahabam Basketball Court.
In the first Group A match staged this morning from 6.30 am, Chandel District Basketball Association (CDBA) sealed a 22-15 win over NETA, Kangla Sangomsang courtesy of Blesson Pashel (15 pts), Hinvalshingm (3 pts), Phowlhring (2) and Giftson (2 points).
W Langamba scored highest 10 points for NETA in this match while Y Robertson and W Cosco added two points apiece.
In the second group B match staged this morning from 8.10 am, Model Club overwhelmed KUDC (Kokilbon), Moirang 62-35 for their second win.
Model Club got off to a flying start and led the first three periods 54-23 before KUDC posted a 12-8 lead in the final period to go down 35-62.
I Chinglemba led the scoring for Model Club securing the highest 21 points while H Lamyanba added 14 points. The remaining points were contributed by H Mahesh (9 pts), W Devaraj (6 pts), W Babloo (5 pts), Anish (3 pts), H Rahul (2 pts) and W Herry (2 pts).
For KUDC, Kongjengbam Doif topscored with 21 points as Tesong Chavan (8) and Ngangom Bronson (6) followed suit.
In the third Group B match staged this evening, LMYVA posted a 64-47 win over KUDC riding on Heisnam Zenith (20 pts), Mutum Lanchenba (20 pts), Mutum Owen (12 pts), Loktongbam Rahul (9 pts) and Seth Golmei (3 pts).
For the Moirang team, Konjengbam Doif led the scoring by adding 27 points followed byTesong Chavang (9 pts), Ng Bronson (6 pts), N Manimatum (4 pts) and H Sekharjit (2 pts).
In the first Group A match of the day staged this afternoon, CYLC, Chingamathak sealed a comfortable 56-28 win over YOSC, Khurai to open their winning account after their first game loss to ESU.
Langamba scored 14 highest points for the winning side followed by David (10 pts), Smith (8 pts), Athouba (6 pts), Lourembam (5 pts), Prince (5 pts) and Leishemba (4) while Thomthin ( 8 pts), Stefeno (6 pts), Daniel (5 pts), Jasper (4 pts), Grosun (3) and Dayananda (2) contributed to YOSC's tally.
In the other Group A match held this evening from 6 pm, ESU notched up an easy 63-26 win over Youth Club, Uripok courtesy of significant contributions from Rishikanta (24 pts), Krishnacharya (13 pts), Newton (9 pts).
Toti, Nitish, Satish and Borish also contributed four points apiece in the ESU's big win as James added one point.
For Youth Club, Wilson scored highest 10 points followed by Devraj (6 pts), Taibangnganba (5), Vishma (3 pts) and Rathor (2 pts).