8th MNCA Elite TournamentCYCLONE, CHAMP cruise to 8th wins; PTCC crush RULE by 117 runs to boost playoff chances


sports photo
By Our Staff Reporter
IMPHAL, Apr 16 : CYCLONE, Thangmeiband and CHAMP, Khagempalli spiced up the race for pole position in the league stage of the 8th MNCA W Prahlada and W Ramananda Elite Tournament by posting their 8th victories in 10 matches today.
Both the teams are all but qualified for the playoff (two qualifiers and one eliminator) by virtue of their top two positions on the same 17 points with a match apiece left to spare. PTRC are also assured of a playoff berth having amassed 14 points (won 6 times) from 10 matches to maintain a 4-point lead against other closest contenders for fourth berth- TRAU, Kwakeithel (10 pts), PTCC, Patsoi (10 points) and REYS (10 points).
CHAMP registered the 8th win comfortably by chasing down a target of 186 runs with 6 wickets left to spare at Luwangpokpa Cricket Stadium today.
CHAMP chose wisely to field first and bowled out CRAU, Khamnam Bazar for 185 runs in 43.4 overs riding on Nitesh Sedai (2/18), Moirangthem Thomas (2/46) and Thingbaijam Nicholson (2/32) despite Lamabam Jotin adding an 87-ball 60 for CRAU.
Md Ahsanul Kabir also picked a wicket in CRAU's innings which also saw Sanatomba K (27), Potshangbam Ronil (22), Dennis Khangenbam (19) and Johny Kh (16) securing double digit figures.
In reply, Leikhram Johny anchored with an unbeaten 121-ball 61 to steer CHAMP to winning 186 in 37.3 overs. Samir also produced a sensible knock of 47 runs off 41 balls to gather 79-runs along with Johny for the second wicket.
Nitesh Sedai (24), Md Sultan Karim (18) and Narsingh Yadav (11) also contributed to CHAMP's victory.
Bm Sabakhan of CRAU picked two wickets as T Kala and H Joyhenba managed a wicket apiece.
Johny who hit a ton was adjudged man of the match.
Elsewhere at Model Hr Sec and Oriental College Ground, CYCLONE cemented their position on top of the team standings with a 13-run win over SCCC, Singjamei.
Put in to bat first CYCLONE amassed 296 runs for 4 wickets in 45 overs courtesy of half centuries from Loktongbam Santosh 80, Kishan Laishram 80 and Md Al Bashid 62 not out.
Sandeep Chakraborty (2/65) was the leading wicket taker for SCCC before they slumped to 283 for 9 in the chase despite Kishan Laishram's 99-ball 80 and significant contributions from Khwairakpam Rinju 47 and Roshan Das 34.
Abdul Kasim (3/50 in 9 overs) was the pick of the CYCLONE bowlers as N Denin (2/67) and L Santosh (2/44) managed two wickets apiece.
Santosh who produced an allround performance was adjudged man of the match.
Meanwhile, PTCC kept their playoff hopes alive with a huge 117-run victory over RULE, Meitram at Lairenjam Public Ground.
Put in to bat first, PTCC rode on Andy Mandingbam's 144-ball 156 to post a competitive total of 231 for 10 wickets in 45 overs and skittled out RULE to 114 all out within 23.4 overs for the big win courtesy of Naorem Victor (5/49) and Sadananda Okram (3/19).
A Rakesh 36, Jay Singh 27 and N Sarojkumar 19 were the only double digit run getters for RULE as 8 others ended up gathering single digit runs.
Andy Mandingbam who led PTCC to their fourth win in 10 matches was declared man of the match.