AFSPA extended by another 6 months

By Our Staff Reporter
IMPHAL, Apr 2 : Barring places under 19 police stations, the Armed Forces (Special Powers) Act or AFSPA, 1958 has been extended in Manipur for another six months with effect from April 1, 2024.
The areas under police stations which don't come under AFSPA are Imphal, Lamphel, City, Singjamei, Sekmai, Lamsang, Patsoi, Wangoi, Porompat, Heingang, Lamlai, Irilbung, Leimakhong, Thoubal, Bish-nupur, Nambol, Moirang, Kakching and Jirbam.
Commissioner (Home) of the Government of Manipur Devesh Deval, in a notification, said that the issue of declaration of "Disturbed Area' status is very sensitive and may likely attract public criticism and resistance if proper care is not taken.
After analysing the prevailing law-and-order situation, it is not expedient to have detailed assessment on the ground as security agencies are preoccupied in maintenance of law and order, he said.
Saying that the Government has decided to  maintain status quo on the present disturbed area status in Manipur given the overall law and order situation in the State, Devesh maintained that the provisions of the Act will be exempted from the areas falling under the jurisdiction of the 19 police stations.
"In exercise of the power conferred by Section 3 of AFSPA, 1958 (Act no 28 of 1958) as amended from time to time, the Governor hereby accords approval to declare the entire State of Manipur excluding the areas falling under the jurisdiction of the 19 police stations as disturbed area for a period six months with effect from April 1, 2024," the notifications reads.