19th Women and 7th Junior Boys State Level Polo Tournaments begin


sports photo
By Our Staff Reporter
IMPHAL, Apr 7 : The 19th edition of Women and 7th edition of Junior Boys State level Polo Tournament kicked off today at All Manipur Polo Association (AMPA) ground Iroishemba under the aegis of AMPA.
5 women's teams and 6 boys teams are taking part in the tournaments organised in single elimination format. The opening ceremony of the tournaments was graced by W Ibohal, Director Tourism Department and Dr K Saratchandra Singh, president, AMPA as dignitaries.
In the women's tournament opener, Madan Polo Club outlasted MPSC 10-0 in a thoroughly one sided encounter this afternoon to set up a semi-final date with Linthoinganbi Kangjeil Lup.
Madan Polo Club had a positive start and added 5 goals in the first chukker before adding twice in the second chukker and thrice in the third chukker to devastate MPSC 10-0.
Veronika starred with four goals in this match adding the first three goals and the fourth goal coming up in the third chukker. Laxmi was on the target twice in the first chukker to make it 5-0 as Enourembi added a goal apiece in the second and the third chukker.
The other goal for Madan Polo Club in the second chukker was scored by Victoria as Pitu added one in the third chukker.
The day also saw Madan Polo Club kicked off Junior Boys' Tournament with a 8-0 rout of Arvind Polo Club courtesy of three goals apiece from Kingson and Gokul Sana.
Prasant Shah, Nishant Shah and Gokul Sana scored a goal apiece in the first chukker to make it 3-0. Kingson scored back to back in the second chukker before Gokul Sana struck his second and team's sixth in the second chukker to make it 6-0.
In the third chukker, Kingson and Gokul Sana took their turns to add a goal each and completed the 8-0 rout of Arvind Polo Club.
With the win, Madan PC set up a semi-final date with Thoubal District Polo Association.