VSAI emerge champions of 5th Sangai Trophy Veteran Football Championship


sports photo
By Our Staff Reporter
IMPHAL, May 19 : VSAI, Thangmeiband defeated UVSA, Lilong Chajing by 3-2 goals on penalties after a goalless regulation time draw to seal the title of the 5th Sangai Trophy Veteran Football Championship 2024 organised by the United Veteran Football Association, Manipur at two venues.
In the final match held this afternoon at CYLC ground, Pishum Chingamathak the two sides were evenly poised and the game ended in a goalless draw during the regulation time.
In the penalty shoot-out, Kh Rajen, Th Sanjoy and Ng Santosh scored for the Thangmeiband team while only Kh Romen and Ng Itocha found the net from the spot for UVSA.
VSAI walked away Rs 1,00,000 richer as UVSA contended with a cash prize of Rs 50,000 and a trophy.
MVFA, Chandel were also feted with the UVFAM fair play team award carrying a cash prize of Rs 10,000.
Best players- S Manimohon of VSAI (U-45), K Romesh of VSAI (above 45- below 50 years) and Kh Rajen of VSAI (above 50 years); top scorers- H Nepolean of MLFVA (U-45), Kh Romen of UVSA (above 45 and below 50 years) and Th Krishna of MLVFA (above 50 years); best goalkeeper- Sinam Lokeshore of UVSA; best defender- K Premkumar of UVSA; best midfielder- N Rajesh and player of the final match- N Rajesh Meetei of VSAI were also feted with cash prize of Rs 5,000 each.